Skip to main content
7.0avg / 10

Blount County School District

School District · Oneonta, Alabama

Students: 7,706
Teachers (FTE): 426
Estimated Scores: 7%

Avg Rating

7.0

out of 10

Schools

14

6 elem, 1 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

7,706

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.1:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#38 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.7

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,462

$1,346 vs Alabama median

District size

7,706 students

Much larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Blount County ranks #38 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Blount County's schools with real test data average 7.0/10 across 13 schools. Its top-rated schools are Cleveland Elementary School (9.0/10), Blountsville Elementary School (8.9/10), and Locust Fork Elementary (8.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Blountsville Elementary School

Rates 8.9/10 despite 71% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.1 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Blount County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Blount County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (13 of 14). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Cleveland Elementary School9.0 / 10
2Blountsville Elementary School8.9 / 10
3Locust Fork Elementary8.1 / 10
4Cleveland High School7.5 / 10
5Southeastern School7.0 / 10
6Hayden High School7.0 / 10
7Hayden Elementary School7.0 / 10
8Hayden Middle School6.8 / 10
9Susan Moore High School6.8 / 10
10Appalachian School6.6 / 10

See all 14 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Blount County

Blount County is a Oneonta, Alabama school district serving 14 schools.The district educates 7,706 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.1:1. District-level spending was $11,462 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.0/10, Blount County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Cleveland Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.0/10.

In standardized testing, Blount County students show an average math proficiency of 42.2% and ELA proficiency of 56.9%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Blount County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency42.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency56.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Blount County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Oneonta
Total Enrollment
7,706
Teachers (FTE)
426
District spending per student
$11,462NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
14.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Blount County?

Blount County has 14 schools in total — 6 elementary, 1 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Blount County?

The average composite rating for Blount County is 7.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Blount County?

Blount County's district-level spending was $11,462 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Blount County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Blount County is 18.1:1.

What is the top-rated school in Blount County?

Cleveland Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Blount County with a composite score of 9.0/10.

What are the test scores in Blount County?

Across schools in Blount County with test data, the average math proficiency is 42.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 56.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Blount County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Blount County has an average school rating of 7.0/10 across 14 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.0/10
Math Proficiency
42.2%
ELA Proficiency
56.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.