Skip to main content
5.1avg / 10

Liberty School District

School District · Bristol, Florida

Students: 1,288
Teachers (FTE): 78

Avg Rating

5.1

out of 10

Schools

7

2 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

1,288

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.5:1

How this district compares

Florida rank

#70 of 71

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.2

below Florida avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,890

+$1,129 vs Florida median

District size

1,288 students

Smaller than Florida median

The short answer

Liberty ranks #70 of 71 Florida districts by overall school rating. Liberty's schools with real test data average 5.1/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Liberty County High School (6.5/10), Hosford Elementary Junior High School (5.9/10), and Apalachicola Forest Youth Academy (4.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Liberty

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Liberty County High School6.5 / 10
2Hosford Elementary Junior High School5.9 / 10
3Apalachicola Forest Youth Academy4.3 / 10
4W. R. Tolar K-8 School3.7 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Liberty

Liberty is a Bristol, Florida school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 1,288 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.5:1. District-level spending was $12,890 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.1/10, Liberty demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Liberty County High School, which has a composite score of 6.5/10.

In standardized testing, Liberty students show an average math proficiency of 50.2% and ELA proficiency of 49.3%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Liberty, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency50.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency49.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Liberty with test data.

District Details

State
Florida
City
Bristol
Total Enrollment
1,288
Teachers (FTE)
78
District spending per student
$12,890NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
22.0%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Liberty?

Liberty has 7 schools in total — 2 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Liberty?

The average composite rating for Liberty is 5.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Liberty?

Liberty's district-level spending was $12,890 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Liberty?

The average student-teacher ratio in Liberty is 16.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Liberty?

Liberty County High School is the highest-rated school in Liberty with a composite score of 6.5/10.

What are the test scores in Liberty?

Across schools in Liberty with test data, the average math proficiency is 50.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 49.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Liberty compare to other districts in Florida?

Liberty has an average school rating of 5.1/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Florida by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.1/10
Math Proficiency
50.2%
ELA Proficiency
49.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Other School Districts in FL

Compare Liberty with neighboring districts in the state.

See all districts in FL →

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Florida Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.