Skip to main content
5.8avg / 10

Carroll County School District

School District · Carrollton, Georgia

Students: 16,299
Teachers (FTE): 1,067

Avg Rating

5.8

out of 10

Schools

24

12 elem, 6 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

16,299

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.3:1

How this district compares

Georgia rank

#135 of 179

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.5

below Georgia avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,946

$1,182 vs Georgia median

District size

16,299 students

Much larger than Georgia median

The short answer

Carroll County ranks #135 of 179 Georgia districts by overall school rating. Carroll County's schools with real test data average 5.8/10 across 24 schools. Its top-rated schools are Temple Elementary School (8.0/10), Bay Springs Middle School (7.9/10), and Mount Zion Elementary School (7.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Temple Elementary School

Rates 8.0/10 despite 84% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.1 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Carroll County schools.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Roopville Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +7.6 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Carroll County schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Carroll County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (24 of 24). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Temple Elementary School8.0 / 10
2Bay Springs Middle School7.9 / 10
3Mount Zion Elementary School7.8 / 10
4Central Middle School7.7 / 10
5Mt. Zion Middle School7.2 / 10
6Temple Middle School7.0 / 10
7Glanton-Hindsman Elementary6.7 / 10
8Sharp Creek Elementary School6.7 / 10
9Sand Hill Elementary School6.6 / 10
10Bowdon High School6.3 / 10

See all 24 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Carroll County

Carroll County is a Carrollton, Georgia school district serving 24 schools.The district educates 16,299 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.3:1. District-level spending was $12,946 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.8/10, Carroll County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Temple Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.0/10.

In standardized testing, Carroll County students show an average math proficiency of 54.0% and ELA proficiency of 56.3%.

The district includes 12 elementary schools, 6 middle schools, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Carroll County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency54.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency56.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Carroll County with test data.

District Details

State
Georgia
City
Carrollton
Total Enrollment
16,299
Teachers (FTE)
1,067
District spending per student
$12,946NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Carroll County?

Carroll County has 24 schools in total — 12 elementary, 6 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Carroll County?

The average composite rating for Carroll County is 5.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Carroll County?

Carroll County's district-level spending was $12,946 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Carroll County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Carroll County is 15.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Carroll County?

Temple Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Carroll County with a composite score of 8.0/10.

What are the test scores in Carroll County?

Across schools in Carroll County with test data, the average math proficiency is 54.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 56.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Carroll County compare to other districts in Georgia?

Carroll County has an average school rating of 5.8/10 across 24 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Georgia by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.8/10
Math Proficiency
54.0%
ELA Proficiency
56.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Georgia Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.