Skip to main content
8.3avg / 10

Cottonwood Joint District School District

School District · Cottonwood, Idaho

Students: 435
Teachers (FTE): 31

Avg Rating

8.3

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

435

Student-Teacher Ratio

14:1

How this district compares

Idaho rank

#6 of 98

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+2.1

above Idaho avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,565

+$506 vs Idaho median

District size

435 students

Smaller than Idaho median

Top-Rated Schools in Cottonwood Joint District

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Prairie Elementary School9.2 / 10
2Prairie Jr/sr High School7.5 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Cottonwood Joint District

Cottonwood Joint District is a Cottonwood, Idaho school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 435 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14:1. District-level spending was $11,565 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 8.3/10, Cottonwood Joint District is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Prairie Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.2/10.

In standardized testing, Cottonwood Joint District students show an average math proficiency of 67.5% and ELA proficiency of 69.7%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Cottonwood Joint District, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency67.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency69.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Cottonwood Joint District with test data.

Schools in Cottonwood Joint District

2 schools

District Details

State
Idaho
City
Cottonwood
Total Enrollment
435
Teachers (FTE)
31
District spending per student
$11,565NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
9.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Cottonwood Joint District?

Cottonwood Joint District has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Cottonwood Joint District?

The average composite rating for Cottonwood Joint District is 8.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Cottonwood Joint District?

Cottonwood Joint District's district-level spending was $11,565 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Cottonwood Joint District?

The average student-teacher ratio in Cottonwood Joint District is 14:1.

What is the top-rated school in Cottonwood Joint District?

Prairie Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Cottonwood Joint District with a composite score of 9.2/10.

What are the test scores in Cottonwood Joint District?

Across schools in Cottonwood Joint District with test data, the average math proficiency is 67.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 69.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
8.3/10
Math Proficiency
67.5%
ELA Proficiency
69.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Idaho Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.