Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

Hiawatha Cusd 426 School District

School District · Kirkland, Illinois

Students: 426
Teachers (FTE): 37

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

426

Student-Teacher Ratio

11.5:1

How this district compares

Illinois rank

#326 of 637

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.1

above Illinois avg

Per-pupil spending

$17,186

+$496 vs Illinois median

District size

426 students

Smaller than Illinois median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Hiawatha Jr/sr High School

STAAR proficiency rose +15.9 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Hiawatha Cusd 426 schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Hiawatha Cusd 426

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Hiawatha Jr/sr High School7.1 / 10
2Hiawatha Elem Sch Prek-55.8 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Hiawatha Cusd 426

Hiawatha Cusd 426 is a Kirkland, Illinois school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 426 students with a student-teacher ratio of 11.5:1. District-level spending was $17,186 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.4/10, Hiawatha Cusd 426 demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Hiawatha Jr/sr High School, which has a composite score of 7.1/10.

In standardized testing, Hiawatha Cusd 426 students show an average math proficiency of 30.0% and ELA proficiency of 36.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Hiawatha Cusd 426, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency30.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency36.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Hiawatha Cusd 426 with test data.

Schools in Hiawatha Cusd 426

2 schools

District Details

City
Kirkland
Total Enrollment
426
Teachers (FTE)
37
District spending per student
$17,186NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
7.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Hiawatha Cusd 426?

Hiawatha Cusd 426 has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Hiawatha Cusd 426?

The average composite rating for Hiawatha Cusd 426 is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Hiawatha Cusd 426?

Hiawatha Cusd 426's district-level spending was $17,186 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Hiawatha Cusd 426?

The average student-teacher ratio in Hiawatha Cusd 426 is 11.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Hiawatha Cusd 426?

Hiawatha Jr/sr High School is the highest-rated school in Hiawatha Cusd 426 with a composite score of 7.1/10.

What are the test scores in Hiawatha Cusd 426?

Across schools in Hiawatha Cusd 426 with test data, the average math proficiency is 30.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 36.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
30.0%
ELA Proficiency
36.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Illinois Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.