Skip to main content
7.8avg / 10

Prairie Grove CSD 46 School District

School District · Crystal Lake, Illinois

Students: 878
Teachers (FTE): 76

Avg Rating

7.8

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 mid

Enrollment

878

Student-Teacher Ratio

11.6:1

How this district compares

Illinois rank

#79 of 637

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.4

above Illinois avg

Per-pupil spending

$19,692

+$3,002 vs Illinois median

District size

878 students

Smaller than Illinois median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Prairie Grove Elem School

STAAR proficiency rose +3.9 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Prairie Grove CSD 46 schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Prairie Grove CSD 46

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Prairie Grove Elem School8.5 / 10
2Prairie Grove Junior High School7.0 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Prairie Grove CSD 46

Prairie Grove CSD 46 is a Crystal Lake, Illinois school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 878 students with a student-teacher ratio of 11.6:1. District-level spending was $19,692 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.8/10, Prairie Grove CSD 46 is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Prairie Grove Elem School, which has a composite score of 8.5/10.

In standardized testing, Prairie Grove CSD 46 students show an average math proficiency of 45.4% and ELA proficiency of 59.8%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school.

District Map

Schools in Prairie Grove CSD 46, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency45.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency59.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Prairie Grove CSD 46 with test data.

Schools in Prairie Grove CSD 46

2 schools

District Details

City
Crystal Lake
Total Enrollment
878
Teachers (FTE)
76
District spending per student
$19,692NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
4.3%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Prairie Grove CSD 46?

Prairie Grove CSD 46 has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Prairie Grove CSD 46?

The average composite rating for Prairie Grove CSD 46 is 7.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Prairie Grove CSD 46?

Prairie Grove CSD 46's district-level spending was $19,692 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Prairie Grove CSD 46?

The average student-teacher ratio in Prairie Grove CSD 46 is 11.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Prairie Grove CSD 46?

Prairie Grove Elem School is the highest-rated school in Prairie Grove CSD 46 with a composite score of 8.5/10.

What are the test scores in Prairie Grove CSD 46?

Across schools in Prairie Grove CSD 46 with test data, the average math proficiency is 45.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 59.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.8/10
Math Proficiency
45.4%
ELA Proficiency
59.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Illinois Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.