Skip to main content
7.1avg / 10

Caston School Corporation School District

School District · Rochester, Indiana

Students: 848
Teachers (FTE): 58

Avg Rating

7.1

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

848

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.6:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#72 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.7

above Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,362

$1,000 vs Indiana median

District size

848 students

Smaller than Indiana median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Caston JR-SR High School

STAAR proficiency rose +18.2 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Caston School Corporation schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Caston School Corporation

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Caston JR-SR High School7.4 / 10
2Caston Elementary School6.7 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Caston School Corporation

Caston School Corporation is a Rochester, Indiana school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 848 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.6:1. District-level spending was $11,362 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.1/10, Caston School Corporation is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Caston JR-SR High School, which has a composite score of 7.4/10.

In standardized testing, Caston School Corporation students show an average math proficiency of 42.0% and ELA proficiency of 44.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Caston School Corporation, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency42.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency44.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Caston School Corporation with test data.

Schools in Caston School Corporation

2 schools

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Rochester
Total Enrollment
848
Teachers (FTE)
58
District spending per student
$11,362NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
12.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Caston School Corporation?

Caston School Corporation has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Caston School Corporation?

The average composite rating for Caston School Corporation is 7.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Caston School Corporation?

Caston School Corporation's district-level spending was $11,362 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Caston School Corporation?

The average student-teacher ratio in Caston School Corporation is 14.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Caston School Corporation?

Caston JR-SR High School is the highest-rated school in Caston School Corporation with a composite score of 7.4/10.

What are the test scores in Caston School Corporation?

Across schools in Caston School Corporation with test data, the average math proficiency is 42.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 44.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.1/10
Math Proficiency
42.0%
ELA Proficiency
44.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.