Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

John Glenn School Corporation School District

School District · Walkerton, Indiana

Students: 2,000
Teachers (FTE): 133

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

4

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,000

Student-Teacher Ratio

15:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#137 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$10,952

$1,410 vs Indiana median

District size

2,000 students

Typical than Indiana median

The short answer

John Glenn School Corporation ranks #137 of 292 Indiana districts by overall school rating. John Glenn School Corporation's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Walkerton Elementary School (7.1/10), Harold C Urey Middle School (6.6/10), and John Glenn High School (6.5/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Walkerton Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +4.4 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among John Glenn School Corporation schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in John Glenn School Corporation

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Walkerton Elementary School7.1 / 10
2Harold C Urey Middle School6.6 / 10
3John Glenn High School6.5 / 10
4North Liberty School6.0 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About John Glenn School Corporation

John Glenn School Corporation is a Walkerton, Indiana school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 2,000 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15:1. District-level spending was $10,952 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, John Glenn School Corporation demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Walkerton Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.1/10.

In standardized testing, John Glenn School Corporation students show an average math proficiency of 57.7% and ELA proficiency of 57.6%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in John Glenn School Corporation, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.7%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency57.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in John Glenn School Corporation with test data.

Schools in John Glenn School Corporation

4 schools

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Walkerton
Total Enrollment
2,000
Teachers (FTE)
133
District spending per student
$10,952NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in John Glenn School Corporation?

John Glenn School Corporation has 4 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for John Glenn School Corporation?

The average composite rating for John Glenn School Corporation is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in John Glenn School Corporation?

John Glenn School Corporation's district-level spending was $10,952 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in John Glenn School Corporation?

The average student-teacher ratio in John Glenn School Corporation is 15:1.

What is the top-rated school in John Glenn School Corporation?

Walkerton Elementary School is the highest-rated school in John Glenn School Corporation with a composite score of 7.1/10.

What are the test scores in John Glenn School Corporation?

Across schools in John Glenn School Corporation with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.7% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 57.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does John Glenn School Corporation compare to other districts in Indiana?

John Glenn School Corporation has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Indiana by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
57.7%
ELA Proficiency
57.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.