Skip to main content
6.6avg / 10

Pike County School Corp School District

School District · Petersburg, Indiana

Students: 1,594
Teachers (FTE): 130

Avg Rating

6.6

out of 10

Schools

4

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,594

Student-Teacher Ratio

12.3:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#136 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,598

+$1,236 vs Indiana median

District size

1,594 students

Typical than Indiana median

The short answer

Pike County School Corp ranks #136 of 292 Indiana districts by overall school rating. Pike County School Corp's schools with real test data average 6.6/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Winslow Elementary School (7.2/10), Pike Central Middle School (6.9/10), and Petersburg Elementary School (6.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Pike Central Middle School

STAAR proficiency rose +5.3 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Pike County School Corp schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Pike County School Corp

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 4). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Winslow Elementary School7.2 / 10
2Pike Central Middle School6.9 / 10
3Petersburg Elementary School6.8 / 10
4Pike Central High School5.3 / 10

See all 4 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Pike County School Corp

Pike County School Corp is a Petersburg, Indiana school district serving 4 schools.The district educates 1,594 students with a student-teacher ratio of 12.3:1. District-level spending was $13,598 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.6/10, Pike County School Corp demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Winslow Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.2/10.

In standardized testing, Pike County School Corp students show an average math proficiency of 45.6% and ELA proficiency of 44.7%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Pike County School Corp, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency45.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency44.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Pike County School Corp with test data.

Schools in Pike County School Corp

4 schools

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Petersburg
Total Enrollment
1,594
Teachers (FTE)
130
District spending per student
$13,598NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Pike County School Corp?

Pike County School Corp has 4 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Pike County School Corp?

The average composite rating for Pike County School Corp is 6.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Pike County School Corp?

Pike County School Corp's district-level spending was $13,598 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Pike County School Corp?

The average student-teacher ratio in Pike County School Corp is 12.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Pike County School Corp?

Winslow Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Pike County School Corp with a composite score of 7.2/10.

What are the test scores in Pike County School Corp?

Across schools in Pike County School Corp with test data, the average math proficiency is 45.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 44.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Pike County School Corp compare to other districts in Indiana?

Pike County School Corp has an average school rating of 6.6/10 across 4 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Indiana by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.6/10
Math Proficiency
45.6%
ELA Proficiency
44.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.