Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

Spencer-Owen Community Schools School District

School District · Spencer, Indiana

Students: 2,215
Teachers (FTE): 163

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

6

4 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,215

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.6:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#105 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,504

+$1,142 vs Indiana median

District size

2,215 students

Larger than Indiana median

The short answer

Spencer-Owen Community Schools ranks #105 of 292 Indiana districts by overall school rating. Spencer-Owen Community Schools's schools with real test data average 6.8/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Gosport Elementary School (8.2/10), Mccormick's Creek Elementary Sch (7.2/10), and Owen Valley Middle School (7.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Gosport Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +11.9 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Spencer-Owen Community Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Spencer-Owen Community Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Gosport Elementary School8.2 / 10
2Mccormick's Creek Elementary Sch7.2 / 10
3Owen Valley Middle School7.2 / 10
4Spencer Elementary School6.5 / 10
5Owen Valley Community High School6.2 / 10
6Patricksburg Elementary School5.3 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Spencer-Owen Community Schools

Spencer-Owen Community Schools is a Spencer, Indiana school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 2,215 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.6:1. District-level spending was $13,504 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, Spencer-Owen Community Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Gosport Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.2/10.

In standardized testing, Spencer-Owen Community Schools students show an average math proficiency of 49.1% and ELA proficiency of 47.2%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Spencer-Owen Community Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency49.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency47.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Spencer-Owen Community Schools with test data.

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Spencer
Total Enrollment
2,215
Teachers (FTE)
163
District spending per student
$13,504NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

Spencer-Owen Community Schools has 6 schools in total — 4 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

The average composite rating for Spencer-Owen Community Schools is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

Spencer-Owen Community Schools's district-level spending was $13,504 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Spencer-Owen Community Schools is 13.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

Gosport Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Spencer-Owen Community Schools with a composite score of 8.2/10.

What are the test scores in Spencer-Owen Community Schools?

Across schools in Spencer-Owen Community Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 49.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 47.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Spencer-Owen Community Schools compare to other districts in Indiana?

Spencer-Owen Community Schools has an average school rating of 6.8/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Indiana by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
49.1%
ELA Proficiency
47.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.