Skip to main content
6.6avg / 10

Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp School District

School District · Tell City, Indiana

Students: 1,360
Teachers (FTE): 95

Avg Rating

6.6

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

1,360

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.3:1

How this district compares

Indiana rank

#128 of 292

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Indiana avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,655

$707 vs Indiana median

District size

1,360 students

Smaller than Indiana median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
William Tell Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +3.7 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1William Tell Elementary School7.3 / 10
2Tell City JR-SR High School5.9 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp

Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp is a Tell City, Indiana school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 1,360 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.3:1. District-level spending was $11,655 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.6/10, Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is William Tell Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.3/10.

In standardized testing, Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp students show an average math proficiency of 47.9% and ELA proficiency of 55.5%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency47.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency55.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp with test data.

Schools in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp

2 schools

District Details

State
Indiana
City
Tell City
Total Enrollment
1,360
Teachers (FTE)
95
District spending per student
$11,655NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
16.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

The average composite rating for Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp is 6.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp's district-level spending was $11,655 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

The average student-teacher ratio in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp is 14.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

William Tell Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp with a composite score of 7.3/10.

What are the test scores in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp?

Across schools in Tell City-Troy Twp School Corp with test data, the average math proficiency is 47.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 55.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.6/10
Math Proficiency
47.9%
ELA Proficiency
55.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Indiana Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.