Skip to main content
6.1avg / 10

Hiawatha School District

School District · Hiawatha, Kansas

Students: 881
Teachers (FTE): 65

Avg Rating

6.1

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

881

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.6:1

How this district compares

Kansas rank

#188 of 279

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.3

below Kansas avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,815

$439 vs Kansas median

District size

881 students

Larger than Kansas median

The short answer

Hiawatha ranks #188 of 279 Kansas districts by overall school rating. Hiawatha's schools with real test data average 6.1/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Hiawatha Elem (6.8/10), Hiawatha Middle School (5.7/10), and Hiawatha SR High (5.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Hiawatha

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Hiawatha Elem6.8 / 10
2Hiawatha Middle School5.7 / 10
3Hiawatha SR High5.7 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Hiawatha

Hiawatha is a Hiawatha, Kansas school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 881 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.6:1. District-level spending was $14,815 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.1/10, Hiawatha demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Hiawatha Elem, which has a composite score of 6.8/10.

In standardized testing, Hiawatha students show an average math proficiency of 48.1% and ELA proficiency of 52.2%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Hiawatha, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency48.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency52.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Hiawatha with test data.

Schools in Hiawatha

3 schools
Elementary Schools1
Middle Schools1
High Schools1

District Details

State
Kansas
City
Hiawatha
Total Enrollment
881
Teachers (FTE)
65
District spending per student
$14,815NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Hiawatha?

Hiawatha has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Hiawatha?

The average composite rating for Hiawatha is 6.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Hiawatha?

Hiawatha's district-level spending was $14,815 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Hiawatha?

The average student-teacher ratio in Hiawatha is 13.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Hiawatha?

Hiawatha Elem is the highest-rated school in Hiawatha with a composite score of 6.8/10.

What are the test scores in Hiawatha?

Across schools in Hiawatha with test data, the average math proficiency is 48.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 52.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Hiawatha compare to other districts in Kansas?

Hiawatha has an average school rating of 6.1/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Kansas by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.1/10
Math Proficiency
48.1%
ELA Proficiency
52.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Kansas Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.