Skip to main content
5.8avg / 10

Owasso School District

School District · Owasso, Oklahoma

Students: 9,898
Teachers (FTE): 540

Avg Rating

5.8

out of 10

Schools

13

9 elem, 3 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

9,898

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.3:1

How this district compares

Oklahoma rank

#316 of 424

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.4

below Oklahoma avg

Per-pupil spending

$9,409

$2,588 vs Oklahoma median

District size

9,898 students

Much larger than Oklahoma median

The short answer

Owasso ranks #316 of 424 Oklahoma districts by overall school rating. Owasso's schools with real test data average 5.8/10 across 13 schools. Its top-rated schools are Owasso HS (7.1/10), Pamela Hodson ES (7.0/10), and Barnes ES (7.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Owasso HS

Rates 7.1/10 despite 36% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.2 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Owasso schools.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Stone Canyon ES

STAAR proficiency rose +26.8 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Owasso schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Owasso

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (13 of 13). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Owasso HS7.1 / 10
2Pamela Hodson ES7.0 / 10
3Barnes ES7.0 / 10
4Owasso 6th Grade Ctr6.7 / 10
5Lucille Ellingwood Morrow ES6.3 / 10
6Northeast ES6.1 / 10
7Owasso 7th Grade Ctr6.0 / 10
8Mills ES5.9 / 10
9Ator ES5.8 / 10
10Stone Canyon ES4.9 / 10

See all 13 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Owasso

Owasso is a Owasso, Oklahoma school district serving 13 schools.The district educates 9,898 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.3:1. District-level spending was $9,409 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.8/10, Owasso demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Owasso HS, which has a composite score of 7.1/10.

In standardized testing, Owasso students show an average math proficiency of 57.6% and ELA proficiency of 57.4%.

The district includes 9 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Owasso, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency57.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Owasso with test data.

District Details

City
Owasso
Total Enrollment
9,898
Teachers (FTE)
540
District spending per student
$9,409NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
6.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Owasso?

Owasso has 13 schools in total — 9 elementary, 3 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Owasso?

The average composite rating for Owasso is 5.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Owasso?

Owasso's district-level spending was $9,409 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Owasso?

The average student-teacher ratio in Owasso is 18.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Owasso?

Owasso HS is the highest-rated school in Owasso with a composite score of 7.1/10.

What are the test scores in Owasso?

Across schools in Owasso with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 57.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Owasso compare to other districts in Oklahoma?

Owasso has an average school rating of 5.8/10 across 13 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Oklahoma by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.8/10
Math Proficiency
57.6%
ELA Proficiency
57.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Other School Districts in OK

Compare Owasso with neighboring districts in the state.

See all districts in OK →

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Oklahoma Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.