Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Carthage ISD School District

School District · Carthage, Texas

Students: 2,598
Teachers (FTE): 190
Estimated Scores: 20%

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

5

2 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,598

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.7:1

How this district compares

Texas rank

#347 of 900

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Texas avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,912

+$944 vs Texas median

District size

2,598 students

Larger than Texas median

The short answer

Carthage ISD ranks #347 of 900 Texas districts by overall school rating. Carthage ISD's schools with real test data average 6.8/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Libby EL (7.8/10), Baker-Koonce Int (7.2/10), and Carthage H S (6.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Baker-Koonce Int

STAAR proficiency rose +6.2 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Carthage ISD schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Carthage ISD

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Libby EL7.8 / 10
2Baker-Koonce Int7.2 / 10
3Carthage H S6.6 / 10
4Carthage J H5.5 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Carthage ISD

Carthage ISD is a Carthage, Texas school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 2,598 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.7:1. District-level spending was $13,912 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Carthage ISD demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Libby EL, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Carthage ISD students show an average math proficiency of 63.3% and ELA proficiency of 64.8%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Carthage ISD, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency63.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency64.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Carthage ISD with test data.

Schools in Carthage ISD

5 schools

District Details

State
Texas
City
Carthage
Total Enrollment
2,598
Teachers (FTE)
190
District spending per student
$13,912NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Carthage ISD?

Carthage ISD has 5 schools in total — 2 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Carthage ISD?

The average composite rating for Carthage ISD is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Carthage ISD?

Carthage ISD's district-level spending was $13,912 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Carthage ISD?

The average student-teacher ratio in Carthage ISD is 13.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Carthage ISD?

Libby EL is the highest-rated school in Carthage ISD with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Carthage ISD?

Across schools in Carthage ISD with test data, the average math proficiency is 63.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 64.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Carthage ISD compare to other districts in Texas?

Carthage ISD has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Texas by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
63.3%
ELA Proficiency
64.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Texas Education Agency, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.