Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

West Hardin County CISD School District

School District · Saratoga, Texas

Students: 541
Teachers (FTE): 43

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

541

Student-Teacher Ratio

12.6:1

How this district compares

Texas rank

#467 of 900

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.0

above Texas avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,779

+$3,811 vs Texas median

District size

541 students

Smaller than Texas median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
West Hardin H S

STAAR proficiency rose +3.3 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among West Hardin County CISD schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in West Hardin County CISD

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1West Hardin EL6.6 / 10
2West Hardin H S6.2 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About West Hardin County CISD

West Hardin County CISD is a Saratoga, Texas school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 541 students with a student-teacher ratio of 12.6:1. District-level spending was $16,779 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.4/10, West Hardin County CISD demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is West Hardin EL, which has a composite score of 6.6/10.

In standardized testing, West Hardin County CISD students show an average math proficiency of 47.7% and ELA proficiency of 59.0%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in West Hardin County CISD, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency47.7%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency59.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in West Hardin County CISD with test data.

Schools in West Hardin County CISD

2 schools
Elementary Schools1
High Schools1

District Details

State
Texas
City
Saratoga
Total Enrollment
541
Teachers (FTE)
43
District spending per student
$16,779NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in West Hardin County CISD?

West Hardin County CISD has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for West Hardin County CISD?

The average composite rating for West Hardin County CISD is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in West Hardin County CISD?

West Hardin County CISD's district-level spending was $16,779 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in West Hardin County CISD?

The average student-teacher ratio in West Hardin County CISD is 12.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in West Hardin County CISD?

West Hardin EL is the highest-rated school in West Hardin County CISD with a composite score of 6.6/10.

What are the test scores in West Hardin County CISD?

Across schools in West Hardin County CISD with test data, the average math proficiency is 47.7% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 59.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
47.7%
ELA Proficiency
59.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Texas Education Agency, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.