Skip to main content

Average

#434 of 1,036 schools in AR

Top 42% in state

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School

High School · Little Rock School District · Little Rock, AR

A high school in Little Rock, AR where students score 17 points below what's typical for similar communities.

6700 H STREET, Little Rock, AR 72205

Attendance data is under correction. This existing Resources & Environment score and overall rating may still reflect an unverified attendance input.

  • Math 12% proficient (2022)
  • Reading 17% proficient (2022)
  • 92.0% 4-year graduation

Academics

Full Profile · 4/4 metrics
Student Progress10.0Excellent25%
Year-over-year improvement in student test scores.
View breakdown
Years of Data3
Annual Change+6.55 pts/yr
Data Period2020–2022
TrendImproving
Academics2.8Needs Improvement25%
Student proficiency on state tests, adjusted for community poverty levels.
View breakdown
Math Proficiency12% (2022 EdFacts)
Reading/ELA Proficiency17% (2022 EdFacts)
Overall Proficiency15% (2022 EdFacts, Math+ELA)
Expected (poverty-adj.)31% (model expectation from 2022 EdFacts)
vs. Expected-16.7 pts
Adjusted Percentile10th
College Readiness8.1Excellent30%
Graduation rates, AP course participation, and IB availability.
View breakdown
4-Year Graduation Rate92%
AP Participation19.3%
IB ProgramNo
Resources & Environment5.7Average20%
Student-teacher ratio and district spending per student.
View breakdown
Student-Teacher Ratio12.2:1
District spending per student$15,959

Students at Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School score 14% proficient, which is below what's typical for similar communities (expected: 31%).

How we calculate scores →

2022 EdFacts proficiency

Most recent published year. School vs. AR average.

Math Proficiency12%(2022 EdFacts)
School
State
Not reported(2022 EdFacts)
ELA Proficiency17%(2022 EdFacts)
School
State
Not reported(2022 EdFacts)

Trend

↑ Improving

Proficiency has improved 12 points since 2020, reaching 15% in 2022, across a 3-year record (2020–2022).

Show all 3 years by subject
2020*
Math
3%
ELA
3%
2021*
Math
3%
ELA
3%
2022
Math
12%
ELA
17%

Multi-year averages used by the rating model: math 6% (multi-year average, 2020-2022) · reading/ELA 7% (multi-year average, 2020-2022)

* COVID-affected year — test participation was uneven nationwide. This data is weighted at 50% in the Growth score calculation.

Based on 6 test records from AR state assessments and EdFacts (NCES).

Equity & diversity

Shown separately, not included in the overall score

Free/reduced lunch

77.4%

Students qualifying for federal meal assistance

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

The neighborhood

Where Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School sits, and what the surrounding area looks like.

Nearby same-level schools are colored by their score. Pins are locations, not attendance boundaries.

Getting around & local context

  • Walk 31Car-Dependent
  • Transit 38Some Transit
  • Bike 19Somewhat Bikeable
  • City reported crime6,916/100K

Powered byWalk Score

FBI Uniform Crime Reporting · 2024 · city context (Little Rock), not school-level safety or attendance eligibility. Source details

Source period: 2024. Freshness not available.

Area profileU.S. Census ACS 5-year estimates (ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates)

Median income

$62,888

Median home value

$204,400

Median rent

$1,110/mo

College educated

53.8%

Homeownership

51.5%

Poverty rate

17.4%

ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates for the ZCTA associated with school ZIP 72205; this is area context, not an attendance boundary.

Programs & students

Programs & Offerings

AP/IB Programs2AP courses offered
19.3% participation·State avg: 2.5 AP courses·CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22
Athletics8sports offered
4 boys'·4 girls'·8 teams (incl. JV)·CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22
Advanced STEM Courses3of 5 advanced subjects offered
Algebra II, Advanced Math, Calculus, Chemistry, Physics·CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22
Gifted & Talented ProgramAvailable
This school offers a gifted and talented program for qualifying students.·CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22

Compare nearby

Nearby same-level schools

4 from a 5-mile search; district fallback available

SchoolScoreGradesDistanceEnrollmentCompare
Catholic High School for BoysPrivate · tuition4.5private9–120.3 mi714Compare →
Lisa Academy West High SchoolCharter · enrollment unverified6.19–120.6 mi386Compare →
Mt St Mary AcademyPrivate · tuition5.0private9–121.0 mi446Compare →
Little Rock Adventist AcademyPrivate · tuitionNot ratedPK–101.4 mi22Compare →

Distance is proximity only; it is not attendance eligibility.

Private · tuition: Potential private option; tuition and admission requirements have not been verified.

Charter · enrollment unverified: Potential charter option; enrollment requirements have not been verified.

Public and private scores come from different models and are shown side by side, not blended into one ranking.

Little Rock School District

Schools in district
39
Rank in district
#10 of 38
District spending per student
$15,959NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
District child poverty rate
22.4%Census SAIPE · 2024

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School is listed in LITTLE ROCK SCHOOL DISTRICT; a district label does not verify attendance for an address.

About Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School is a public high school in Little Rock, AR, part of Little Rock School District, serving approximately 305 students in grades 9th-12th with a 12.2:1 student-teacher ratio. It holds a MySchoolScout rating of 6.8 out of 10 and ranks #434 of 1,036 schools in AR. State assessment records show 6% math proficiency (multi-year average, 2020-2022) and 7% reading/ELA proficiency (multi-year average, 2020-2022).

Frequently asked questions

Common questions about Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School

What grades does Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School serve?

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School serves students in grades 9th through 12th.

How many students attend Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School?

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School has an enrollment of approximately 305 students.

What is the student-teacher ratio at Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School?

The student-teacher ratio at Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School is 12.2:1. A lower ratio generally means more individual attention per student. The national average is approximately 16:1 for public schools.

How does Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School rank in AR?

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School ranks #434 of 1,036 schools in AR.

What is Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School's MySchoolScout rating?

Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School has a current MySchoolScout rating of 6.8 out of 10. This score combines the level-appropriate components shown in the rating breakdown; equity data is shown separately for context.

What are the test scores at Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School?

Based on loaded state assessment records, Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School has 6% math proficiency (multi-year average, 2020-2022) and 7% reading/ELA proficiency (multi-year average, 2020-2022).

Is Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School a charter school?

No, Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School is not a charter school. It is a traditional public school operated by the local school district.

Is Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School a Title I school?

No, Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School is not currently a Title I school.

What does the Free & Reduced Lunch percentage mean for Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School?

77.4% of students at Little Rock Hall Steam Magnet High School qualify for free or reduced-price lunch. This is a commonly used indicator of economic need and provides important context when interpreting test scores.

School factsNCES Common Core of Data (CCD) (SY 2023–24)

Grades
9th – 12th
Enrollment
305
Student-Teacher Ratio
12.2:1
Teachers (FTE)
25
Type
regular
Setting
Midsize City
County
Pulaski County
4-Year Graduation
92.0%
Area population (ZIP 72205)
22,275
Area average commute
14.3 min
Area median age
37.5
About this school's data

Every number on this page comes from a published source with a stated period. Where a source is partial, aging, or describes a surrounding area rather than the school, that limitation is named below.

School directory (enrollment, grades, staff, contact)
NCES Common Core of Data (CCD) · SY 2023–24 · Medium confidence
  • Source period: SY 2023–24. A newer release may be available.
MySchoolScout rating and rank
MySchoolScout ranking model · Low confidence
  • Vintage not available. Do not use this measure alone.
  • Derived as a weighted blend of the component scores shown in Academics from state assessment, EdFacts growth, and NCES resource records.
Math proficiency
State department of education · 2022 EdFacts · Low confidence
  • Older source: 2022 EdFacts. Use as historical context.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived from source records rather than read directly from one field.
Reading/ELA proficiency
State department of education · 2022 EdFacts · Low confidence
  • Older source: 2022 EdFacts. Use as historical context.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived from source records rather than read directly from one field.
Student progress (growth)
NCES EdFacts · Mixed source periods · Low confidence
  • Vintage not available. Do not use this measure alone.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived as the fitted year-over-year slope of proficiency from multi-year assessment records.
Neighborhood (income, housing, education)
U.S. Census ACS 5-year estimates · ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates · Low confidence
  • Older source: ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates. Use as historical context.
  • Reported for the ZCTA for ZIP 72205; this does not measure the attendance area.
Programs (AP/IB, athletics, gifted)
CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22 · Medium confidence
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Source period: SY 2021–22. A newer release may be available.

Evidence periods: Rating mixed/unknown input periods; assessments multi-year average, 2020-2022; directory SY 2023–24

About our data · How we calculate scores

Related reading

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.