Skip to main content

Very Good

#100 of 451 schools in ND

Top 22% in state

Valley-Edinburg High School

High School · Valley-Edinburg 118 · Edinburg, ND

A Valley-Edinburg 118 high school where students score 11 points above what's typical for similar communities.

PO Box 6, Edinburg, ND 58227

Attendance data is under correction. This existing Resources & Environment score and overall rating may still reflect an unverified attendance input.

  • Math 25% proficient (2022)
  • Reading 75% proficient (2022)
  • 80%+ 4-year graduation

Academics

Full Profile · 4/4 metrics
Student Progress3.7Needs Improvement25%
Year-over-year improvement in student test scores.
View breakdown
Years of Data13
Annual Change-4.26 pts/yr
Data Period2010–2022
TrendDeclining
Academics8.8Excellent25%
Student proficiency on state tests, adjusted for community poverty levels.
View breakdown
Math Proficiency25% (2022 EdFacts)
Reading/ELA Proficiency75% (2022 EdFacts)
Overall Proficiency50% (2022 EdFacts, Math+ELA)
Expected (poverty-adj.)39% (model expectation from 2022 EdFacts)
vs. Expected+11.0 pts
Adjusted Percentile81th
College Readiness8.8Excellent30%
Graduation rates, AP course participation, and IB availability.
View breakdown
4-Year Graduation Rate80%+
IB ProgramNo
Resources & Environment8.9Excellent20%
Student-teacher ratio and district spending per student.
View breakdown
Student-Teacher Ratio9.9:1
District spending per student$18,145

Students at Valley-Edinburg High School score 50% proficient, which is above what's typical for similar communities (expected: 39%).

How we calculate scores →

2022 EdFacts proficiency

Most recent published year. School vs. ND average.

Math Proficiency25%(2022 EdFacts)
School
State
Not reported(2022 EdFacts)
ELA Proficiency75%(2022 EdFacts)
School
State
Not reported(2022 EdFacts)

Trend

↑ Recovering

Proficiency declined earlier in the 13-year record (2010–2022), then recovered 25 points since 2019, reaching 50% in 2022.

Show all 13 years
2010
Math
70%
ELA
70%
2011
Math
75%
ELA
75%
2012
Math
90%
ELA
90%
2013
Math
75%
ELA
75%
2014
Math
25%
ELA
25%
2015
Math
30%
ELA
70%
2016
Math
30%
ELA
50%
2017
Math
30%
ELA
50%
2018
Math
25%
ELA
25%
2019
Math
25%
ELA
25%
2020*
Math
25%
ELA
25%
2021*
Math
25%
ELA
25%
2022
Math
25%
ELA
75%

Multi-year averages used by the rating model: math 42% (multi-year average, 2010-2022) · reading/ELA 52% (multi-year average, 2010-2022)

* COVID-affected year — test participation was uneven nationwide. This data is weighted at 50% in the Growth score calculation.

Based on 26 test records from ND state assessments and EdFacts (NCES).

Equity & diversity

Shown separately, not included in the overall score

Free/reduced lunch

39.2%

Students qualifying for federal meal assistance

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

The neighborhood

Where Valley-Edinburg High School sits, and what the surrounding area looks like.

Nearby same-level schools are colored by their score. Pins are locations, not attendance boundaries.

Getting around & local context

  • Walk 12Car-Dependent
  • Bike 33Somewhat Bikeable
  • County reported crime448/100K

Powered byWalk Score

FBI Uniform Crime Reporting · 2024 · county context, not school-level safety or attendance eligibility. Source details

Source period: 2024. A newer release may be available.

Area profileU.S. Census ACS 5-year estimates (ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates)

Median income

$72,679

Median home value

$107,500

Median rent

$639/mo

College educated

30.1%

Homeownership

82.7%

Poverty rate

5.4%

ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates for the ZCTA associated with school ZIP 58227; this is area context, not an attendance boundary.

Programs & students

Programs & Offerings

Advanced STEM Courses3of 5 advanced subjects offered
Algebra II, Advanced Math, Calculus, Chemistry, Physics·CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22

Compare nearby

Nearby same-level schools

0 from verified nearby records

No verified same-level alternatives

The available nearby set has no same-level school with a verified grade span.

Valley-Edinburg 118

Schools in district
3
Rank in district
#3 of 3
District spending per student
$18,145NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
District child poverty rate
9.6%Census SAIPE · 2024

Valley-Edinburg High School is listed in VALLEY-EDINBURG 118; a district label does not verify attendance for an address.

About Valley-Edinburg High School

Valley-Edinburg High School is a public high school in Edinburg, ND, part of Valley-Edinburg 118, serving approximately 79 students in grades 7th-12th with a 9.9:1 student-teacher ratio. It holds a MySchoolScout rating of 7.5 out of 10 and ranks #100 of 451 schools in ND. State assessment records show 42% math proficiency (multi-year average, 2010-2022) and 52% reading/ELA proficiency (multi-year average, 2010-2022).

Frequently asked questions

Common questions about Valley-Edinburg High School

What grades does Valley-Edinburg High School serve?

Valley-Edinburg High School serves students in grades 7th through 12th.

How many students attend Valley-Edinburg High School?

Valley-Edinburg High School has an enrollment of approximately 79 students.

What is the student-teacher ratio at Valley-Edinburg High School?

The student-teacher ratio at Valley-Edinburg High School is 9.9:1. A lower ratio generally means more individual attention per student. The national average is approximately 16:1 for public schools.

How does Valley-Edinburg High School rank in ND?

Valley-Edinburg High School ranks #100 of 451 schools in ND.

What is Valley-Edinburg High School's MySchoolScout rating?

Valley-Edinburg High School has a current MySchoolScout rating of 7.5 out of 10. This score combines the level-appropriate components shown in the rating breakdown; equity data is shown separately for context.

What are the test scores at Valley-Edinburg High School?

Based on loaded state assessment records, Valley-Edinburg High School has 42% math proficiency (multi-year average, 2010-2022) and 52% reading/ELA proficiency (multi-year average, 2010-2022).

Is Valley-Edinburg High School a charter school?

No, Valley-Edinburg High School is not a charter school. It is a traditional public school operated by the local school district.

Is Valley-Edinburg High School a Title I school?

No, Valley-Edinburg High School is not currently a Title I school.

What does the Free & Reduced Lunch percentage mean for Valley-Edinburg High School?

39.2% of students at Valley-Edinburg High School qualify for free or reduced-price lunch. This is a commonly used indicator of economic need and provides important context when interpreting test scores.

School factsNCES Common Core of Data (CCD) (SY 2023–24)

Grades
7th – 12th
Enrollment
79
Student-Teacher Ratio
9.9:1
Teachers (FTE)
8
Type
regular
Setting
Remote Rural
County
Walsh County
4-Year Graduation
80%+
Area population (ZIP 58227)
479
Area median age
44.5
About this school's data

Every number on this page comes from a published source with a stated period. Where a source is partial, aging, or describes a surrounding area rather than the school, that limitation is named below.

School directory (enrollment, grades, staff, contact)
NCES Common Core of Data (CCD) · SY 2023–24 · Medium confidence
  • Source period: SY 2023–24. A newer release may be available.
MySchoolScout rating and rank
MySchoolScout ranking model · Low confidence
  • Vintage not available. Do not use this measure alone.
  • Derived as a weighted blend of the component scores shown in Academics from state assessment, EdFacts growth, and NCES resource records.
Math proficiency
State department of education · 2022 EdFacts · Low confidence
  • Older source: 2022 EdFacts. Use as historical context.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived from source records rather than read directly from one field.
Reading/ELA proficiency
State department of education · 2022 EdFacts · Low confidence
  • Older source: 2022 EdFacts. Use as historical context.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived from source records rather than read directly from one field.
Student progress (growth)
NCES EdFacts · Mixed source periods · Low confidence
  • Vintage not available. Do not use this measure alone.
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Derived as the fitted year-over-year slope of proficiency from multi-year assessment records.
Neighborhood (income, housing, education)
U.S. Census ACS 5-year estimates · ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates · Low confidence
  • Older source: ACS 2019–2023 5-year estimates. Use as historical context.
  • Reported for the ZCTA for ZIP 58227; this does not measure the attendance area.
Programs (AP/IB, athletics, gifted)
CRDC via Urban Institute · SY 2021–22 · Medium confidence
  • Available for part of the eligible units; results may not represent the full area.
  • Source period: SY 2021–22. A newer release may be available.

Evidence periods: Rating mixed/unknown input periods; assessments multi-year average, 2010-2022; directory SY 2023–24

About our data · How we calculate scores

Related reading

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.