Skip to main content
4.9avg / 10

Attalla City School District

School District · Attalla, Alabama

Students: 1,538
Teachers (FTE): 84

Avg Rating

4.9

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,538

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.3:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#133 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.4

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,641

$1,167 vs Alabama median

District size

1,538 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Attalla City ranks #133 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Attalla City's schools with real test data average 4.9/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Etowah High School (5.5/10), Etowah Middle School (5.1/10), and Attalla Elementary School (4.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Attalla City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Etowah High School5.5 / 10
2Etowah Middle School5.1 / 10
3Attalla Elementary School4.2 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Attalla City

Attalla City is a Attalla, Alabama school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,538 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.3:1. District-level spending was $11,641 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 4.9/10, Attalla City demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Etowah High School, which has a composite score of 5.5/10.

In standardized testing, Attalla City students show an average math proficiency of 34.6% and ELA proficiency of 49.7%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Attalla City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency34.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency49.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Attalla City with test data.

Schools in Attalla City

3 schools

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Attalla
Total Enrollment
1,538
Teachers (FTE)
84
District spending per student
$11,641NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
29.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Attalla City?

Attalla City has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Attalla City?

The average composite rating for Attalla City is 4.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Attalla City?

Attalla City's district-level spending was $11,641 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Attalla City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Attalla City is 18.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Attalla City?

Etowah High School is the highest-rated school in Attalla City with a composite score of 5.5/10.

What are the test scores in Attalla City?

Across schools in Attalla City with test data, the average math proficiency is 34.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 49.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Attalla City compare to other districts in Alabama?

Attalla City has an average school rating of 4.9/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
4.9/10
Math Proficiency
34.6%
ELA Proficiency
49.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.