Skip to main content
5.5avg / 10

Chilton County School District

School District · Clanton, Alabama

Students: 7,930
Teachers (FTE): 434

Avg Rating

5.5

out of 10

Schools

12

2 elem, 4 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

7,930

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.3:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#123 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.8

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$10,446

$2,362 vs Alabama median

District size

7,930 students

Much larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Chilton County ranks #123 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Chilton County's schools with real test data average 5.5/10 across 12 schools. Its top-rated schools are Maplesville High School (6.3/10), Jemison Middle School (6.2/10), and Clanton Middle School (6.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Maplesville High School

Rates 6.3/10 despite 67% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 0.9 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Chilton County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Chilton County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (12 of 12). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Maplesville High School6.3 / 10
2Jemison Middle School6.2 / 10
3Clanton Middle School6.1 / 10
4Jemison Elementary School5.8 / 10
5Clanton Intermediate School5.8 / 10
6Verbena High School5.7 / 10
7Thorsby High School5.2 / 10
8Chilton County High School5.1 / 10
9Isabella High School5.1 / 10
10Clanton Elementary School4.7 / 10

See all 12 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Chilton County

Chilton County is a Clanton, Alabama school district serving 12 schools.The district educates 7,930 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.3:1. District-level spending was $10,446 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.5/10, Chilton County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Maplesville High School, which has a composite score of 6.3/10.

In standardized testing, Chilton County students show an average math proficiency of 34.4% and ELA proficiency of 48.5%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 4 middle schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Chilton County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency34.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency48.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Chilton County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Clanton
Total Enrollment
7,930
Teachers (FTE)
434
District spending per student
$10,446NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
19.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Chilton County?

Chilton County has 12 schools in total — 2 elementary, 4 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Chilton County?

The average composite rating for Chilton County is 5.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Chilton County?

Chilton County's district-level spending was $10,446 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Chilton County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Chilton County is 18.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Chilton County?

Maplesville High School is the highest-rated school in Chilton County with a composite score of 6.3/10.

What are the test scores in Chilton County?

Across schools in Chilton County with test data, the average math proficiency is 34.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 48.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Chilton County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Chilton County has an average school rating of 5.5/10 across 12 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.5/10
Math Proficiency
34.4%
ELA Proficiency
48.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.