Skip to main content
6.2avg / 10

Clarke County School District

School District · Grove Hill, Alabama

Students: 2,158
Teachers (FTE): 127
Estimated Scores: 14%

Avg Rating

6.2

out of 10

Schools

7

3 elem, 2 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

2,158

Student-Teacher Ratio

17:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#90 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.1

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,384

+$1,576 vs Alabama median

District size

2,158 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Clarke County ranks #90 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Clarke County's schools with real test data average 6.0/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Jackson High School (6.9/10), Grove Hill Elementary School (6.7/10), and Clarke County High School (6.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Clarke County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Jackson High School6.9 / 10
2Grove Hill Elementary School6.7 / 10
3Clarke County High School6.7 / 10
4Wilson Hall Middle School6.6 / 10
5Jackson Middle School4.7 / 10
6Jackson Intermediate School4.2 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Clarke County

Clarke County is a Grove Hill, Alabama school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 2,158 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17:1. District-level spending was $14,384 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.2/10, Clarke County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Jackson High School, which has a composite score of 6.9/10.

In standardized testing, Clarke County students show an average math proficiency of 31.8% and ELA proficiency of 45.2%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Clarke County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency31.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency45.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Clarke County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Grove Hill
Total Enrollment
2,158
Teachers (FTE)
127
District spending per student
$14,384NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
27.9%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Clarke County?

Clarke County has 7 schools in total — 3 elementary, 2 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Clarke County?

The average composite rating for Clarke County is 6.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Clarke County?

Clarke County's district-level spending was $14,384 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Clarke County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Clarke County is 17:1.

What is the top-rated school in Clarke County?

Jackson High School is the highest-rated school in Clarke County with a composite score of 6.9/10.

What are the test scores in Clarke County?

Across schools in Clarke County with test data, the average math proficiency is 31.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 45.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Clarke County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Clarke County has an average school rating of 6.2/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.2/10
Math Proficiency
31.8%
ELA Proficiency
45.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.