Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

Coffee County School District

School District · Elba, Alabama

Students: 2,904
Teachers (FTE): 161

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

5

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,904

Student-Teacher Ratio

18:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#75 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.1

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$11,762

$1,046 vs Alabama median

District size

2,904 students

Typical than Alabama median

The short answer

Coffee County ranks #75 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Coffee County's schools with real test data average 6.4/10 across 5 schools. Its top-rated schools are Kinston School (8.0/10), Zion Chapel High School (7.5/10), and New Brockton High School (5.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Coffee County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (5 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Kinston School8.0 / 10
2Zion Chapel High School7.5 / 10
3New Brockton High School5.8 / 10
4New Brockton Middle School5.4 / 10
5New Brockton Elementary School5.1 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Coffee County

Coffee County is a Elba, Alabama school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 2,904 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18:1. District-level spending was $11,762 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.4/10, Coffee County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Kinston School, which has a composite score of 8.0/10.

In standardized testing, Coffee County students show an average math proficiency of 48.2% and ELA proficiency of 61.1%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Coffee County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency48.2%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency61.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Coffee County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Elba
Total Enrollment
2,904
Teachers (FTE)
161
District spending per student
$11,762NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
13.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Coffee County?

Coffee County has 5 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Coffee County?

The average composite rating for Coffee County is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Coffee County?

Coffee County's district-level spending was $11,762 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Coffee County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Coffee County is 18:1.

What is the top-rated school in Coffee County?

Kinston School is the highest-rated school in Coffee County with a composite score of 8.0/10.

What are the test scores in Coffee County?

Across schools in Coffee County with test data, the average math proficiency is 48.2% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 61.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Coffee County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Coffee County has an average school rating of 6.4/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
48.2%
ELA Proficiency
61.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.