Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

Crenshaw County School District

School District · Luverne, Alabama

Students: 2,088
Teachers (FTE): 142

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

3

Enrollment

2,088

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.7:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#66 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,649

$159 vs Alabama median

District size

2,088 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Crenshaw County ranks #66 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Crenshaw County's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Brantley High School (6.8/10), Highland Home School (6.6/10), and Luverne High School (6.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Crenshaw County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Brantley High School6.8 / 10
2Highland Home School6.6 / 10
3Luverne High School6.2 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Crenshaw County

Crenshaw County is a Luverne, Alabama school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 2,088 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.7:1. District-level spending was $12,649 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, Crenshaw County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Brantley High School, which has a composite score of 6.8/10.

In standardized testing, Crenshaw County students show an average math proficiency of 36.9% and ELA proficiency of 50.4%.

District Map

Schools in Crenshaw County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency36.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency50.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Crenshaw County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Luverne
Total Enrollment
2,088
Teachers (FTE)
142
District spending per student
$12,649NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
27.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Crenshaw County?

Crenshaw County has 3 schools in total. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Crenshaw County?

The average composite rating for Crenshaw County is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Crenshaw County?

Crenshaw County's district-level spending was $12,649 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Crenshaw County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Crenshaw County is 14.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Crenshaw County?

Brantley High School is the highest-rated school in Crenshaw County with a composite score of 6.8/10.

What are the test scores in Crenshaw County?

Across schools in Crenshaw County with test data, the average math proficiency is 36.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 50.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Crenshaw County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Crenshaw County has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
36.9%
ELA Proficiency
50.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.