Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

Dale County School District

School District · Ozark, Alabama

Students: 3,313
Teachers (FTE): 192

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

7

3 elem, 1 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

3,313

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.3:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#50 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.5

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,213

$595 vs Alabama median

District size

3,313 students

Typical than Alabama median

The short answer

Dale County ranks #50 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Dale County's schools with real test data average 6.8/10 across 7 schools. Its top-rated schools are Gw Long Elementary School (8.4/10), George W Long High School (7.6/10), and Ariton School (7.0/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Dale County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (7 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Gw Long Elementary School8.4 / 10
2George W Long High School7.6 / 10
3Ariton School7.0 / 10
4Dale County High School7.0 / 10
5Newton Elementary School6.5 / 10
6South Dale Middle School6.4 / 10
7Midland City Elementary School4.4 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Dale County

Dale County is a Ozark, Alabama school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 3,313 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.3:1. District-level spending was $12,213 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, Dale County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Gw Long Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.4/10.

In standardized testing, Dale County students show an average math proficiency of 54.1% and ELA proficiency of 62.2%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Dale County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency54.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency62.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Dale County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Ozark
Total Enrollment
3,313
Teachers (FTE)
192
District spending per student
$12,213NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
21.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Dale County?

Dale County has 7 schools in total — 3 elementary, 1 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Dale County?

The average composite rating for Dale County is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Dale County?

Dale County's district-level spending was $12,213 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Dale County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Dale County is 17.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Dale County?

Gw Long Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Dale County with a composite score of 8.4/10.

What are the test scores in Dale County?

Across schools in Dale County with test data, the average math proficiency is 54.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 62.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Dale County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Dale County has an average school rating of 6.8/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
54.1%
ELA Proficiency
62.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.