Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Dekalb County School District

School District · Rainsville, Alabama

Students: 8,704
Teachers (FTE): 551

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

12

3 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

8,704

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.8:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#53 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,528

$280 vs Alabama median

District size

8,704 students

Much larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Dekalb County ranks #53 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Dekalb County's schools with real test data average 6.7/10 across 12 schools. Its top-rated schools are Henagar Junior High School (9.2/10), Ruhuma Junior High School (8.7/10), and Plainview School (7.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Ruhuma Junior High School

Rates 8.7/10 despite 80% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.5 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Dekalb County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Dekalb County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (12 of 12). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Henagar Junior High School9.2 / 10
2Ruhuma Junior High School8.7 / 10
3Plainview School7.7 / 10
4Ider School7.5 / 10
5Sylvania School7.3 / 10
6Collinsville High School6.7 / 10
7Valley Head High School6.7 / 10
8Fyffe High School6.5 / 10
9Geraldine School6.1 / 10
10Crossville High School5.4 / 10

See all 12 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Dekalb County

Dekalb County is a Rainsville, Alabama school district serving 12 schools.The district educates 8,704 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.8:1. District-level spending was $12,528 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Dekalb County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Henagar Junior High School, which has a composite score of 9.2/10.

In standardized testing, Dekalb County students show an average math proficiency of 36.5% and ELA proficiency of 49.3%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Dekalb County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency36.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency49.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Dekalb County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Rainsville
Total Enrollment
8,704
Teachers (FTE)
551
District spending per student
$12,528NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
25.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Dekalb County?

Dekalb County has 12 schools in total — 3 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Dekalb County?

The average composite rating for Dekalb County is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Dekalb County?

Dekalb County's district-level spending was $12,528 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Dekalb County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Dekalb County is 15.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Dekalb County?

Henagar Junior High School is the highest-rated school in Dekalb County with a composite score of 9.2/10.

What are the test scores in Dekalb County?

Across schools in Dekalb County with test data, the average math proficiency is 36.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 49.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Dekalb County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Dekalb County has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 12 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
36.5%
ELA Proficiency
49.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.