Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

Franklin County School District

School District · Russellville, Alabama

Students: 3,640
Teachers (FTE): 227

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

9

3 elem, 3 high

Enrollment

3,640

Student-Teacher Ratio

16:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#49 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.5

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,421

+$613 vs Alabama median

District size

3,640 students

Larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Franklin County ranks #49 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Franklin County's schools with real test data average 6.8/10 across 9 schools. Its top-rated schools are Phil Campbell Elementary School (8.5/10), Red Bay Elementary (8.1/10), and East Franklin Junior High School (7.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Phil Campbell Elementary School

Rates 8.5/10 despite 70% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.1 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Franklin County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Franklin County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (9 of 9). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Phil Campbell Elementary School8.5 / 10
2Red Bay Elementary8.1 / 10
3East Franklin Junior High School7.6 / 10
4Red Bay High School7.1 / 10
5Belgreen High School6.9 / 10
6Phil Campbell High School6.3 / 10
7Vina High School6.0 / 10
8Tharptown High School5.8 / 10
9Tharptown Elementary School4.6 / 10

See all 9 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Franklin County

Franklin County is a Russellville, Alabama school district serving 9 schools.The district educates 3,640 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16:1. District-level spending was $13,421 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, Franklin County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Phil Campbell Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.5/10.

In standardized testing, Franklin County students show an average math proficiency of 40.1% and ELA proficiency of 51.8%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, and 3 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Franklin County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency40.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency51.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Franklin County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Russellville
Total Enrollment
3,640
Teachers (FTE)
227
District spending per student
$13,421NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
21.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Franklin County?

Franklin County has 9 schools in total — 3 elementary, and 3 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Franklin County?

The average composite rating for Franklin County is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Franklin County?

Franklin County's district-level spending was $13,421 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Franklin County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Franklin County is 16:1.

What is the top-rated school in Franklin County?

Phil Campbell Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Franklin County with a composite score of 8.5/10.

What are the test scores in Franklin County?

Across schools in Franklin County with test data, the average math proficiency is 40.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 51.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Franklin County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Franklin County has an average school rating of 6.8/10 across 9 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
40.1%
ELA Proficiency
51.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.