Skip to main content
7.3avg / 10

Geneva City School District

School District · Geneva, Alabama

Students: 1,263
Teachers (FTE): 80

Avg Rating

7.3

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,263

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.8:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#22 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.0

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,470

$338 vs Alabama median

District size

1,263 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Geneva City ranks #22 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Geneva City's schools with real test data average 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Geneva High School (8.1/10), Mulkey Elementary School (7.4/10), and Geneva Middle School (6.5/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Geneva City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Geneva High School8.1 / 10
2Mulkey Elementary School7.4 / 10
3Geneva Middle School6.5 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Geneva City

Geneva City is a Geneva, Alabama school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,263 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.8:1. District-level spending was $12,470 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.3/10, Geneva City is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Geneva High School, which has a composite score of 8.1/10.

In standardized testing, Geneva City students show an average math proficiency of 52.0% and ELA proficiency of 59.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Geneva City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency52.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency59.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Geneva City with test data.

Schools in Geneva City

3 schools

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Geneva
Total Enrollment
1,263
Teachers (FTE)
80
District spending per student
$12,470NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
22.0%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Geneva City?

Geneva City has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Geneva City?

The average composite rating for Geneva City is 7.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Geneva City?

Geneva City's district-level spending was $12,470 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Geneva City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Geneva City is 15.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Geneva City?

Geneva High School is the highest-rated school in Geneva City with a composite score of 8.1/10.

What are the test scores in Geneva City?

Across schools in Geneva City with test data, the average math proficiency is 52.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 59.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Geneva City compare to other districts in Alabama?

Geneva City has an average school rating of 7.3/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.3/10
Math Proficiency
52.0%
ELA Proficiency
59.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.