Skip to main content
6.3avg / 10

Geneva County School District

School District · Geneva, Alabama

Students: 2,819
Teachers (FTE): 164

Avg Rating

6.3

out of 10

Schools

9

3 elem, 3 mid, 3 high

Enrollment

2,819

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.2:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#76 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.0

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,608

$200 vs Alabama median

District size

2,819 students

Typical than Alabama median

The short answer

Geneva County ranks #76 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Geneva County's schools with real test data average 6.3/10 across 9 schools. Its top-rated schools are Geneva County Elementary School (8.4/10), Slocomb High School (7.7/10), and Geneva County Middle School (6.8/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Geneva County Elementary School

Rates 8.4/10 despite 68% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.4 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Geneva County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Geneva County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (9 of 9). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Geneva County Elementary School8.4 / 10
2Slocomb High School7.7 / 10
3Geneva County Middle School6.8 / 10
4Slocomb Elementary School6.5 / 10
5Samson High School6.2 / 10
6Geneva County High School5.9 / 10
7Samson Elementary School5.8 / 10
8Slocomb Middle School5.7 / 10
9Samson Middle School4.1 / 10

See all 9 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Geneva County

Geneva County is a Geneva, Alabama school district serving 9 schools.The district educates 2,819 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.2:1. District-level spending was $12,608 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.3/10, Geneva County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Geneva County Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.4/10.

In standardized testing, Geneva County students show an average math proficiency of 43.8% and ELA proficiency of 54.2%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 3 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Geneva County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency43.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency54.2%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Geneva County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Geneva
Total Enrollment
2,819
Teachers (FTE)
164
District spending per student
$12,608NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
23.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Geneva County?

Geneva County has 9 schools in total — 3 elementary, 3 middle, and 3 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Geneva County?

The average composite rating for Geneva County is 6.3/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Geneva County?

Geneva County's district-level spending was $12,608 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Geneva County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Geneva County is 17.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Geneva County?

Geneva County Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Geneva County with a composite score of 8.4/10.

What are the test scores in Geneva County?

Across schools in Geneva County with test data, the average math proficiency is 43.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 54.2%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Geneva County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Geneva County has an average school rating of 6.3/10 across 9 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.3/10
Math Proficiency
43.8%
ELA Proficiency
54.2%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.