Skip to main content
6.4avg / 10

Lowndes County School District

School District · Hayneville, Alabama

Students: 1,173
Teachers (FTE): 77

Avg Rating

6.4

out of 10

Schools

7

3 elem, 2 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

1,173

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.2:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#73 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.1

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$23,179

+$10,371 vs Alabama median

District size

1,173 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Lowndes County ranks #73 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Lowndes County's schools with real test data average 6.4/10 across 7 schools. Its top-rated schools are Fort Deposit Elementary School (9.3/10), Central Elementary School (7.7/10), and Hayneville Middle School (6.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Lowndes County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (7 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Fort Deposit Elementary School9.3 / 10
2Central Elementary School7.7 / 10
3Hayneville Middle School6.9 / 10
4Central High School5.5 / 10
5Calhoun High School5.2 / 10
6Lowndes County Middle School5.1 / 10
7Jacksonsteele Elementary School5.0 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Lowndes County

Lowndes County is a Hayneville, Alabama school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 1,173 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.2:1. District-level spending was $23,179 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.4/10, Lowndes County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Fort Deposit Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.3/10.

In standardized testing, Lowndes County students show an average math proficiency of 23.8% and ELA proficiency of 33.4%.

The district includes 3 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Lowndes County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency23.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency33.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Lowndes County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Hayneville
Total Enrollment
1,173
Teachers (FTE)
77
District spending per student
$23,179NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
38.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Lowndes County?

Lowndes County has 7 schools in total — 3 elementary, 2 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Lowndes County?

The average composite rating for Lowndes County is 6.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Lowndes County?

Lowndes County's district-level spending was $23,179 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Lowndes County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Lowndes County is 15.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Lowndes County?

Fort Deposit Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Lowndes County with a composite score of 9.3/10.

What are the test scores in Lowndes County?

Across schools in Lowndes County with test data, the average math proficiency is 23.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 33.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Lowndes County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Lowndes County has an average school rating of 6.4/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.4/10
Math Proficiency
23.8%
ELA Proficiency
33.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.