Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

Macon County School District

School District · Tuskegee, Alabama

Students: 1,769
Teachers (FTE): 103

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

6

2 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,769

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.2:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#68 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$17,599

+$4,791 vs Alabama median

District size

1,769 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Macon County ranks #68 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Macon County's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Dc Wolfe School (9.3/10), George Washington Carver Elementary School (7.5/10), and Notasulga High School (6.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Macon County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Dc Wolfe School9.3 / 10
2George Washington Carver Elementary School7.5 / 10
3Notasulga High School6.3 / 10
4Tuskegee Public Elementary5.9 / 10
5Booker T Washington High5.7 / 10
6Tuskegee Institute Middle School4.3 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Macon County

Macon County is a Tuskegee, Alabama school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 1,769 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.2:1. District-level spending was $17,599 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, Macon County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Dc Wolfe School, which has a composite score of 9.3/10.

In standardized testing, Macon County students show an average math proficiency of 23.1% and ELA proficiency of 36.5%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Macon County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency23.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency36.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Macon County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Tuskegee
Total Enrollment
1,769
Teachers (FTE)
103
District spending per student
$17,599NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
34.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Macon County?

Macon County has 6 schools in total — 2 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Macon County?

The average composite rating for Macon County is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Macon County?

Macon County's district-level spending was $17,599 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Macon County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Macon County is 17.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Macon County?

Dc Wolfe School is the highest-rated school in Macon County with a composite score of 9.3/10.

What are the test scores in Macon County?

Across schools in Macon County with test data, the average math proficiency is 23.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 36.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Macon County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Macon County has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
23.1%
ELA Proficiency
36.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.