Skip to main content
7.2avg / 10

Marion County School District

School District · Hamilton, Alabama

Students: 3,358
Teachers (FTE): 213

Avg Rating

7.2

out of 10

Schools

10

4 elem, 1 mid, 4 high

Enrollment

3,358

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.8:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#31 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.9

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,288

$520 vs Alabama median

District size

3,358 students

Larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Marion County ranks #31 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Marion County's schools with real test data average 7.2/10 across 10 schools. Its top-rated schools are Hackleburg Elementary School (8.8/10), Hamilton Middle School (8.0/10), and Hamilton Elementary School (7.9/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Hackleburg Elementary School

Rates 8.8/10 despite 69% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 1.6 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Marion County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Marion County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (10 of 10). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Hackleburg Elementary School8.8 / 10
2Hamilton Middle School8.0 / 10
3Hamilton Elementary School7.9 / 10
4Phillips Elementary School7.9 / 10
5Marion County High School7.9 / 10
6Phillips High School7.5 / 10
7Hackleburg High School6.6 / 10
8Brilliant School6.1 / 10
9Hamilton High School6.0 / 10
10Guin Elementary School5.3 / 10

See all 10 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Marion County

Marion County is a Hamilton, Alabama school district serving 10 schools.The district educates 3,358 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.8:1. District-level spending was $12,288 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.2/10, Marion County is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Hackleburg Elementary School, which has a composite score of 8.8/10.

In standardized testing, Marion County students show an average math proficiency of 47.7% and ELA proficiency of 59.4%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 4 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Marion County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency47.7%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency59.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Marion County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Hamilton
Total Enrollment
3,358
Teachers (FTE)
213
District spending per student
$12,288NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
26.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Marion County?

Marion County has 10 schools in total — 4 elementary, 1 middle, and 4 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Marion County?

The average composite rating for Marion County is 7.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Marion County?

Marion County's district-level spending was $12,288 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Marion County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Marion County is 15.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Marion County?

Hackleburg Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Marion County with a composite score of 8.8/10.

What are the test scores in Marion County?

Across schools in Marion County with test data, the average math proficiency is 47.7% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 59.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Marion County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Marion County has an average school rating of 7.2/10 across 10 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.2/10
Math Proficiency
47.7%
ELA Proficiency
59.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.