Skip to main content
5.8avg / 10

Marshall County School District

School District · Guntersville, Alabama

Students: 6,040
Teachers (FTE): 356
Estimated Scores: 8%

Avg Rating

5.8

out of 10

Schools

12

6 elem, 2 mid, 4 high

Enrollment

6,040

Student-Teacher Ratio

17:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#106 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.5

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,172

+$364 vs Alabama median

District size

6,040 students

Much larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Marshall County ranks #106 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Marshall County's schools with real test data average 5.6/10 across 11 schools. Its top-rated schools are Brindlee Mountain Primary School (7.8/10), Kate D Smith Dar High School (6.5/10), and Douglas Elementary School (6.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Best value · beats the odds
Brindlee Mountain Primary School

Rates 7.8/10 despite 59% of students being economically disadvantaged. That's about 2.2 points higher than its student-poverty level predicts. Roughly as clean a case of strong results without an affluent-ZIP price tag as you'll find among Marshall County schools.

Top-Rated Schools in Marshall County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (11 of 12). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Brindlee Mountain Primary School7.8 / 10
2Kate D Smith Dar High School6.5 / 10
3Douglas Elementary School6.2 / 10
4Kate Duncan Smith Dar Middle6.2 / 10
5Brindlee Mountain High School5.5 / 10
6Brindlee Mountain Elementary School5.4 / 10
7Kate D Smith Dar Elementary School5.3 / 10
8Asbury Elementary School5.2 / 10
9Douglas Middle School4.8 / 10
10Douglas High School4.6 / 10

See all 12 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Marshall County

Marshall County is a Guntersville, Alabama school district serving 12 schools.The district educates 6,040 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17:1. District-level spending was $13,172 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.8/10, Marshall County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Brindlee Mountain Primary School, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Marshall County students show an average math proficiency of 39.3% and ELA proficiency of 49.6%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 4 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Marshall County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency39.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency49.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Marshall County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Guntersville
Total Enrollment
6,040
Teachers (FTE)
356
District spending per student
$13,172NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Marshall County?

Marshall County has 12 schools in total — 6 elementary, 2 middle, and 4 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Marshall County?

The average composite rating for Marshall County is 5.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Marshall County?

Marshall County's district-level spending was $13,172 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Marshall County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Marshall County is 17:1.

What is the top-rated school in Marshall County?

Brindlee Mountain Primary School is the highest-rated school in Marshall County with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Marshall County?

Across schools in Marshall County with test data, the average math proficiency is 39.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 49.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Marshall County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Marshall County has an average school rating of 5.8/10 across 12 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.8/10
Math Proficiency
39.3%
ELA Proficiency
49.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.