Skip to main content
7.9avg / 10

Opp City School District

School District · Opp, Alabama

Students: 1,330
Teachers (FTE): 82

Avg Rating

7.9

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,330

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.2:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#8 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.6

above Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,836

+$28 vs Alabama median

District size

1,330 students

Smaller than Alabama median

The short answer

Opp City ranks #8 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Opp City's schools with real test data average 7.9/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Opp Elementary School (9.1/10), Opp Middle School (8.0/10), and Opp High School (6.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Opp City

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Opp Elementary School9.1 / 10
2Opp Middle School8.0 / 10
3Opp High School6.7 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Opp City

Opp City is a Opp, Alabama school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,330 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.2:1. District-level spending was $12,836 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.9/10, Opp City is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Opp Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.1/10.

In standardized testing, Opp City students show an average math proficiency of 49.1% and ELA proficiency of 57.1%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Opp City, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency49.1%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency57.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Opp City with test data.

Schools in Opp City

3 schools

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Opp
Total Enrollment
1,330
Teachers (FTE)
82
District spending per student
$12,836NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
31.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Opp City?

Opp City has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Opp City?

The average composite rating for Opp City is 7.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Opp City?

Opp City's district-level spending was $12,836 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Opp City?

The average student-teacher ratio in Opp City is 16.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Opp City?

Opp Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Opp City with a composite score of 9.1/10.

What are the test scores in Opp City?

Across schools in Opp City with test data, the average math proficiency is 49.1% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 57.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Opp City compare to other districts in Alabama?

Opp City has an average school rating of 7.9/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.9/10
Math Proficiency
49.1%
ELA Proficiency
57.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.