Skip to main content
5.9avg / 10

Russell County School District

School District · Phenix City, Alabama

Students: 3,815
Teachers (FTE): 205
Estimated Scores: 14%

Avg Rating

5.9

out of 10

Schools

7

5 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

3,815

Student-Teacher Ratio

18.6:1

How this district compares

Alabama rank

#99 of 143

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.4

below Alabama avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,199

$609 vs Alabama median

District size

3,815 students

Larger than Alabama median

The short answer

Russell County ranks #99 of 143 Alabama districts by overall school rating. Russell County's schools with real test data average 5.9/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Ladonia Elementary School (7.7/10), Mount Olive Intermediate School (6.4/10), and Dixie Elementary School (6.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Russell County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Ladonia Elementary School7.7 / 10
2Mount Olive Intermediate School6.4 / 10
3Dixie Elementary School6.3 / 10
4Russell County High School6.0 / 10
5Oliver Elementary School4.7 / 10
6Russell County Middle School4.4 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Russell County

Russell County is a Phenix City, Alabama school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 3,815 students with a student-teacher ratio of 18.6:1. District-level spending was $12,199 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.9/10, Russell County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Ladonia Elementary School, which has a composite score of 7.7/10.

In standardized testing, Russell County students show an average math proficiency of 40.0% and ELA proficiency of 52.8%.

The district includes 5 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Russell County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency40.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency52.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Russell County with test data.

District Details

State
Alabama
City
Phenix City
Total Enrollment
3,815
Teachers (FTE)
205
District spending per student
$12,199NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
22.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Russell County?

Russell County has 7 schools in total — 5 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Russell County?

The average composite rating for Russell County is 5.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Russell County?

Russell County's district-level spending was $12,199 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Russell County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Russell County is 18.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Russell County?

Ladonia Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Russell County with a composite score of 7.7/10.

What are the test scores in Russell County?

Across schools in Russell County with test data, the average math proficiency is 40.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 52.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Russell County compare to other districts in Alabama?

Russell County has an average school rating of 5.9/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Alabama by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.9/10
Math Proficiency
40.0%
ELA Proficiency
52.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Alabama Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.