Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Buttonwillow Union Elementary School District

School District · Buttonwillow, California

Students: 287
Teachers (FTE): 21

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

1

1 elem

Enrollment

287

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.7:1

How this district compares

Per-pupil spending

$22,326

+$4,679 vs California median

District size

287 students

Smaller than California median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Buttonwillow Elementary

STAAR proficiency rose +4.9 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Buttonwillow Union Elementary schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Buttonwillow Union Elementary

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (1 of 1). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Buttonwillow Elementary6.7 / 10

See all 1 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Buttonwillow Union Elementary

Buttonwillow Union Elementary is a Buttonwillow, California school district serving 1 schools.The district educates 287 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.7:1. District-level spending was $22,326 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Buttonwillow Union Elementary demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Buttonwillow Elementary, which has a composite score of 6.7/10.

In standardized testing, Buttonwillow Union Elementary students show an average math proficiency of 18.6% and ELA proficiency of 23.0%.

The district includes 1 elementary school.

District Map

Schools in Buttonwillow Union Elementary, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency18.6%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency23.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Buttonwillow Union Elementary with test data.

Schools in Buttonwillow Union Elementary

1 schools

District Details

City
Buttonwillow
Total Enrollment
287
Teachers (FTE)
21
District spending per student
$22,326NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
12.7%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

Buttonwillow Union Elementary has 1 schools in total — 1 elementary. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

The average composite rating for Buttonwillow Union Elementary is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

Buttonwillow Union Elementary's district-level spending was $22,326 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

The average student-teacher ratio in Buttonwillow Union Elementary is 13.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

Buttonwillow Elementary is the highest-rated school in Buttonwillow Union Elementary with a composite score of 6.7/10.

What are the test scores in Buttonwillow Union Elementary?

Across schools in Buttonwillow Union Elementary with test data, the average math proficiency is 18.6% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 23.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
18.6%
ELA Proficiency
23.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, California Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.