Skip to main content
6.0avg / 10

Maxwell Unified School District

School District · Maxwell, California

Students: 350
Teachers (FTE): 20

Avg Rating

6.0

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

350

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.5:1

How this district compares

California rank

#437 of 713

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.3

below California avg

Per-pupil spending

$19,438

+$1,791 vs California median

District size

350 students

Smaller than California median

The short answer

Maxwell Unified ranks #437 of 713 California districts by overall school rating. Maxwell Unified's schools with real test data average 6.0/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Maxwell Elementary (8.3/10), Maxwell SR High (5.5/10), and Maxwell Middle (4.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Maxwell Unified

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Maxwell Elementary8.3 / 10
2Maxwell SR High5.5 / 10
3Maxwell Middle4.3 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Maxwell Unified

Maxwell Unified is a Maxwell, California school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 350 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.5:1. District-level spending was $19,438 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.0/10, Maxwell Unified demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Maxwell Elementary, which has a composite score of 8.3/10.

In standardized testing, Maxwell Unified students show an average math proficiency of 32.4% and ELA proficiency of 40.3%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Maxwell Unified, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency32.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency40.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Maxwell Unified with test data.

Schools in Maxwell Unified

3 schools
Elementary Schools1
Middle Schools1
High Schools1

District Details

City
Maxwell
Total Enrollment
350
Teachers (FTE)
20
District spending per student
$19,438NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
22.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Maxwell Unified?

Maxwell Unified has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Maxwell Unified?

The average composite rating for Maxwell Unified is 6.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Maxwell Unified?

Maxwell Unified's district-level spending was $19,438 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Maxwell Unified?

The average student-teacher ratio in Maxwell Unified is 17.5:1.

What is the top-rated school in Maxwell Unified?

Maxwell Elementary is the highest-rated school in Maxwell Unified with a composite score of 8.3/10.

What are the test scores in Maxwell Unified?

Across schools in Maxwell Unified with test data, the average math proficiency is 32.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 40.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Maxwell Unified compare to other districts in California?

Maxwell Unified has an average school rating of 6.0/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in California by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.0/10
Math Proficiency
32.4%
ELA Proficiency
40.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, California Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.