Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

Mother Lode Union Elementary School District

School District · Placerville, California

Students: 863
Teachers (FTE): 43

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 mid

Enrollment

863

Student-Teacher Ratio

20.1:1

How this district compares

California rank

#209 of 713

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above California avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,798

$849 vs California median

District size

863 students

Smaller than California median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Herbert C. Green Middle

STAAR proficiency rose +1.0 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Mother Lode Union Elementary schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Mother Lode Union Elementary

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Indian Creek Elementary7.2 / 10
2Herbert C. Green Middle6.3 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Mother Lode Union Elementary

Mother Lode Union Elementary is a Placerville, California school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 863 students with a student-teacher ratio of 20.1:1. District-level spending was $16,798 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, Mother Lode Union Elementary demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Indian Creek Elementary, which has a composite score of 7.2/10.

In standardized testing, Mother Lode Union Elementary students show an average math proficiency of 39.3% and ELA proficiency of 43.6%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school.

District Map

Schools in Mother Lode Union Elementary, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency39.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency43.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Mother Lode Union Elementary with test data.

Schools in Mother Lode Union Elementary

2 schools

District Details

City
Placerville
Total Enrollment
863
Teachers (FTE)
43
District spending per student
$16,798NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
8.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Mother Lode Union Elementary?

Mother Lode Union Elementary has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Mother Lode Union Elementary?

The average composite rating for Mother Lode Union Elementary is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Mother Lode Union Elementary?

Mother Lode Union Elementary's district-level spending was $16,798 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Mother Lode Union Elementary?

The average student-teacher ratio in Mother Lode Union Elementary is 20.1:1.

What is the top-rated school in Mother Lode Union Elementary?

Indian Creek Elementary is the highest-rated school in Mother Lode Union Elementary with a composite score of 7.2/10.

What are the test scores in Mother Lode Union Elementary?

Across schools in Mother Lode Union Elementary with test data, the average math proficiency is 39.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 43.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
39.3%
ELA Proficiency
43.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, California Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.