Skip to main content
5.2avg / 10

Nevada County Office of Education School District

School District · Grass Valley, California

Students: 1,188
Teachers (FTE): 69

Avg Rating

5.2

out of 10

Schools

5

2 elem, 2 high

Enrollment

1,188

Student-Teacher Ratio

17.2:1

How this district compares

California rank

#640 of 713

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.1

below California avg

Per-pupil spending

$29,345

+$11,698 vs California median

District size

1,188 students

Smaller than California median

The short answer

Nevada County Office of Education ranks #640 of 713 California districts by overall school rating. Nevada County Office of Education's schools with real test data average 5.2/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Bitney Prep High (6.5/10), Forest Charter (5.4/10), and Twin Ridges Home Study Charter (4.6/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Top-Rated Schools in Nevada County Office of Education

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Bitney Prep High6.5 / 10
2Forest Charter5.4 / 10
3Twin Ridges Home Study Charter4.6 / 10
4Nevada County Special Education4.3 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Nevada County Office of Education

Nevada County Office of Education is a Grass Valley, California school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 1,188 students with a student-teacher ratio of 17.2:1. District-level spending was $29,345 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.2/10, Nevada County Office of Education demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Bitney Prep High, which has a composite score of 6.5/10.

In standardized testing, Nevada County Office of Education students show an average math proficiency of 28.0% and ELA proficiency of 42.7%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Nevada County Office of Education, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency28.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency42.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Nevada County Office of Education with test data.

District Details

City
Grass Valley
Total Enrollment
1,188
Teachers (FTE)
69
District spending per student
$29,345NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
The source release did not match this district identifier.Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Nevada County Office of Education?

Nevada County Office of Education has 5 schools in total — 2 elementary, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Nevada County Office of Education?

The average composite rating for Nevada County Office of Education is 5.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Nevada County Office of Education?

Nevada County Office of Education's district-level spending was $29,345 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Nevada County Office of Education?

The average student-teacher ratio in Nevada County Office of Education is 17.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Nevada County Office of Education?

Bitney Prep High is the highest-rated school in Nevada County Office of Education with a composite score of 6.5/10.

What are the test scores in Nevada County Office of Education?

Across schools in Nevada County Office of Education with test data, the average math proficiency is 28.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 42.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Nevada County Office of Education compare to other districts in California?

Nevada County Office of Education has an average school rating of 5.2/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in California by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.2/10
Math Proficiency
28.0%
ELA Proficiency
42.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, California Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.