Skip to main content
3.4avg / 10

Owens Valley Unified School District

School District · Independence, California

Students: 101
Teachers (FTE): 8

Avg Rating

3.4

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

101

Student-Teacher Ratio

12.6:1

How this district compares

Per-pupil spending

$34,886

+$17,239 vs California median

District size

101 students

Smaller than California median

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Owens Valley Elementary

STAAR proficiency rose +1.4 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Owens Valley Unified schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Owens Valley Unified

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (1 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Owens Valley Elementary3.4 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Owens Valley Unified

Owens Valley Unified is a Independence, California school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 101 students with a student-teacher ratio of 12.6:1. District-level spending was $34,886 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 3.4/10, Owens Valley Unified has schools with varying levels of academic achievement.

The highest-rated school in the district is Owens Valley Elementary, which has a composite score of 3.4/10.

In standardized testing, Owens Valley Unified students show an average math proficiency of 31.5% and ELA proficiency of 36.9%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Owens Valley Unified, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency31.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency36.9%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Owens Valley Unified with test data.

Schools in Owens Valley Unified

2 schools

District Details

City
Independence
Total Enrollment
101
Teachers (FTE)
8
District spending per student
$34,886NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
16.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Owens Valley Unified?

Owens Valley Unified has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Owens Valley Unified?

The average composite rating for Owens Valley Unified is 3.4/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Owens Valley Unified?

Owens Valley Unified's district-level spending was $34,886 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Owens Valley Unified?

The average student-teacher ratio in Owens Valley Unified is 12.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Owens Valley Unified?

Owens Valley Elementary is the highest-rated school in Owens Valley Unified with a composite score of 3.4/10.

What are the test scores in Owens Valley Unified?

Across schools in Owens Valley Unified with test data, the average math proficiency is 31.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 36.9%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
3.4/10
Math Proficiency
31.5%
ELA Proficiency
36.9%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, California Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.