Skip to main content
6.8avg / 10

Bloomfield School District

School District · Bloomfield, Connecticut

Students: 1,982
Teachers (FTE): 192
Estimated Scores: 14%

Avg Rating

6.8

out of 10

Schools

7

2 elem, 2 mid, 2 high

Enrollment

1,982

Student-Teacher Ratio

10.3:1

How this district compares

Connecticut rank

#64 of 134

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Connecticut avg

Per-pupil spending

$32,662

+$7,657 vs Connecticut median

District size

1,982 students

Typical than Connecticut median

The short answer

Bloomfield School District ranks #64 of 134 Connecticut districts by overall school rating. Bloomfield School District's schools with real test data average 6.9/10 across 6 schools. Its top-rated schools are Laurel Literacy Academy (8.7/10), Carmen Arace Intermediate School (7.8/10), and Carmen Arace Middle School (7.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Carmen Arace Middle School

STAAR proficiency rose +7.0 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Bloomfield School District schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Bloomfield School District

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (6 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Laurel Literacy Academy8.7 / 10
2Carmen Arace Intermediate School7.8 / 10
3Carmen Arace Middle School7.2 / 10
4Metacomet School7.1 / 10
5Global Experience Magnet School5.4 / 10
6Bloomfield High School5.1 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Bloomfield School District

Bloomfield School District is a Bloomfield, Connecticut school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 1,982 students with a student-teacher ratio of 10.3:1. District-level spending was $32,662 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.8/10, Bloomfield School District demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Laurel Literacy Academy, which has a composite score of 8.7/10.

In standardized testing, Bloomfield School District students show an average math proficiency of 36.4% and ELA proficiency of 48.4%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Bloomfield School District, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency36.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency48.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Bloomfield School District with test data.

District Details

City
Bloomfield
Total Enrollment
1,982
Teachers (FTE)
192
District spending per student
$32,662NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.6%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Bloomfield School District?

Bloomfield School District has 7 schools in total — 2 elementary, 2 middle, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Bloomfield School District?

The average composite rating for Bloomfield School District is 6.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Bloomfield School District?

Bloomfield School District's district-level spending was $32,662 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Bloomfield School District?

The average student-teacher ratio in Bloomfield School District is 10.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Bloomfield School District?

Laurel Literacy Academy is the highest-rated school in Bloomfield School District with a composite score of 8.7/10.

What are the test scores in Bloomfield School District?

Across schools in Bloomfield School District with test data, the average math proficiency is 36.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 48.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Bloomfield School District compare to other districts in Connecticut?

Bloomfield School District has an average school rating of 6.8/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Connecticut by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.8/10
Math Proficiency
36.4%
ELA Proficiency
48.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Connecticut Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.