Skip to main content
6.6avg / 10

Baldwin County School District

School District · Milledgeville, Georgia

Students: 4,588
Teachers (FTE): 348
Estimated Scores: 33%

Avg Rating

6.6

out of 10

Schools

6

4 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

4,588

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.2:1

How this district compares

Georgia rank

#60 of 179

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.3

above Georgia avg

Per-pupil spending

$15,131

+$1,003 vs Georgia median

District size

4,588 students

Larger than Georgia median

The short answer

Baldwin County ranks #60 of 179 Georgia districts by overall school rating. Baldwin County's schools with real test data average 7.0/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Oak Hill MS (7.9/10), Lakeview Academy (7.7/10), and Midway Hills Academy (7.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Lakeview Academy

STAAR proficiency rose +11.6 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Baldwin County schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Baldwin County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 6). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Oak Hill MS7.9 / 10
2Lakeview Academy7.7 / 10
3Midway Hills Academy7.4 / 10
4Baldwin High School4.9 / 10

See all 6 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Baldwin County

Baldwin County is a Milledgeville, Georgia school district serving 6 schools.The district educates 4,588 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.2:1. District-level spending was $15,131 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.6/10, Baldwin County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Oak Hill MS, which has a composite score of 7.9/10.

In standardized testing, Baldwin County students show an average math proficiency of 28.8% and ELA proficiency of 36.6%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Baldwin County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency28.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency36.6%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Baldwin County with test data.

District Details

State
Georgia
City
Milledgeville
Total Enrollment
4,588
Teachers (FTE)
348
District spending per student
$15,131NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
26.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Baldwin County?

Baldwin County has 6 schools in total — 4 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Baldwin County?

The average composite rating for Baldwin County is 6.6/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Baldwin County?

Baldwin County's district-level spending was $15,131 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Baldwin County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Baldwin County is 13.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Baldwin County?

Oak Hill MS is the highest-rated school in Baldwin County with a composite score of 7.9/10.

What are the test scores in Baldwin County?

Across schools in Baldwin County with test data, the average math proficiency is 28.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 36.6%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Baldwin County compare to other districts in Georgia?

Baldwin County has an average school rating of 6.6/10 across 6 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Georgia by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.6/10
Math Proficiency
28.8%
ELA Proficiency
36.6%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Georgia Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.