Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Towns County School District

School District · Hiawassee, Georgia

Students: 1,001
Teachers (FTE): 89

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,001

Student-Teacher Ratio

11.2:1

How this district compares

Georgia rank

#53 of 179

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Georgia avg

Per-pupil spending

$18,874

+$4,746 vs Georgia median

District size

1,001 students

Smaller than Georgia median

The short answer

Towns County ranks #53 of 179 Georgia districts by overall school rating. Towns County's schools with real test data average 6.7/10 across 3 schools. Its top-rated schools are Towns County Middle School (7.2/10), Towns County High School (6.9/10), and Towns County Elementary School (6.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Towns County Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +9.7 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Towns County schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Towns County

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (3 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Towns County Middle School7.2 / 10
2Towns County High School6.9 / 10
3Towns County Elementary School6.1 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Towns County

Towns County is a Hiawassee, Georgia school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 1,001 students with a student-teacher ratio of 11.2:1. District-level spending was $18,874 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Towns County demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Towns County Middle School, which has a composite score of 7.2/10.

In standardized testing, Towns County students show an average math proficiency of 57.3% and ELA proficiency of 63.1%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Towns County, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.3%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency63.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Towns County with test data.

Schools in Towns County

3 schools

District Details

State
Georgia
City
Hiawassee
Total Enrollment
1,001
Teachers (FTE)
89
District spending per student
$18,874NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
17.8%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Towns County?

Towns County has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Towns County?

The average composite rating for Towns County is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Towns County?

Towns County's district-level spending was $18,874 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Towns County?

The average student-teacher ratio in Towns County is 11.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Towns County?

Towns County Middle School is the highest-rated school in Towns County with a composite score of 7.2/10.

What are the test scores in Towns County?

Across schools in Towns County with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.3% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 63.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Towns County compare to other districts in Georgia?

Towns County has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Georgia by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
57.3%
ELA Proficiency
63.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Georgia Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.