Skip to main content
6.0avg / 10

Chatfield Public Schools School District

School District · Chatfield, Minnesota

Students: 885
Teachers (FTE): 62

Avg Rating

6.0

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 2 high

Enrollment

885

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.3:1

How this district compares

Minnesota rank

#266 of 389

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.4

below Minnesota avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,548

$2,060 vs Minnesota median

District size

885 students

Typical than Minnesota median

Top-Rated Schools in Chatfield Public Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Chatfield Elementary School6.5 / 10
2Chatfield Secondary5.4 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Chatfield Public Schools

Chatfield Public Schools is a Chatfield, Minnesota school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 885 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.3:1. District-level spending was $12,548 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.0/10, Chatfield Public Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Chatfield Elementary School, which has a composite score of 6.5/10.

In standardized testing, Chatfield Public Schools students show an average math proficiency of 62.9% and ELA proficiency of 65.0%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Chatfield Public Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency62.9%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency65.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Chatfield Public Schools with test data.

Schools in Chatfield Public Schools

3 schools

District Details

City
Chatfield
Total Enrollment
885
Teachers (FTE)
62
District spending per student
$12,548NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
5.2%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Chatfield Public Schools?

Chatfield Public Schools has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Chatfield Public Schools?

The average composite rating for Chatfield Public Schools is 6.0/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Chatfield Public Schools?

Chatfield Public Schools's district-level spending was $12,548 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Chatfield Public Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Chatfield Public Schools is 14.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Chatfield Public Schools?

Chatfield Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Chatfield Public Schools with a composite score of 6.5/10.

What are the test scores in Chatfield Public Schools?

Across schools in Chatfield Public Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 62.9% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 65.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Chatfield Public Schools compare to other districts in Minnesota?

Chatfield Public Schools has an average school rating of 6.0/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Minnesota by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.0/10
Math Proficiency
62.9%
ELA Proficiency
65.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Minnesota Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.