Skip to main content
7.9avg / 10

Fillmore Central School District

School District · Preston, Minnesota

Students: 581
Teachers (FTE): 50

Avg Rating

7.9

out of 10

Schools

3

1 elem, 2 high

Enrollment

581

Student-Teacher Ratio

11.6:1

How this district compares

Minnesota rank

#15 of 389

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+1.6

above Minnesota avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,087

$521 vs Minnesota median

District size

581 students

Smaller than Minnesota median

Top-Rated Schools in Fillmore Central

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 3). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Fillmore Central Elementary9.0 / 10
2Fillmore Central Senior High6.8 / 10

See all 3 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Fillmore Central

Fillmore Central is a Preston, Minnesota school district serving 3 schools.The district educates 581 students with a student-teacher ratio of 11.6:1. District-level spending was $14,087 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 7.9/10, Fillmore Central is among the strongest-performing districts in the state.

The highest-rated school in the district is Fillmore Central Elementary, which has a composite score of 9.0/10.

In standardized testing, Fillmore Central students show an average math proficiency of 48.5% and ELA proficiency of 57.8%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 2 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Fillmore Central, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency48.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency57.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Fillmore Central with test data.

Schools in Fillmore Central

3 schools

District Details

City
Preston
Total Enrollment
581
Teachers (FTE)
50
District spending per student
$14,087NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
10.4%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Fillmore Central?

Fillmore Central has 3 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 2 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Fillmore Central?

The average composite rating for Fillmore Central is 7.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Fillmore Central?

Fillmore Central's district-level spending was $14,087 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Fillmore Central?

The average student-teacher ratio in Fillmore Central is 11.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Fillmore Central?

Fillmore Central Elementary is the highest-rated school in Fillmore Central with a composite score of 9.0/10.

What are the test scores in Fillmore Central?

Across schools in Fillmore Central with test data, the average math proficiency is 48.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 57.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Fillmore Central compare to other districts in Minnesota?

Fillmore Central has an average school rating of 7.9/10 across 3 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in Minnesota by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
7.9/10
Math Proficiency
48.5%
ELA Proficiency
57.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Minnesota Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.