Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Stephen-Argyle Central Schools School District

School District · Stephen, Minnesota

Students: 276
Teachers (FTE): 17

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

2

1 elem, 1 high

Enrollment

276

Student-Teacher Ratio

16.2:1

How this district compares

Minnesota rank

#133 of 389

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above Minnesota avg

Per-pupil spending

$18,007

+$3,399 vs Minnesota median

District size

276 students

Smaller than Minnesota median

Top-Rated Schools in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (2 of 2). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Argyle Elementary7.7 / 10
2Stephen Senior High5.7 / 10

See all 2 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Stephen-Argyle Central Schools

Stephen-Argyle Central Schools is a Stephen, Minnesota school district serving 2 schools.The district educates 276 students with a student-teacher ratio of 16.2:1. District-level spending was $18,007 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Stephen-Argyle Central Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Argyle Elementary, which has a composite score of 7.7/10.

In standardized testing, Stephen-Argyle Central Schools students show an average math proficiency of 55.8% and ELA proficiency of 62.4%.

The district includes 1 elementary school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency55.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency62.4%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools with test data.

Schools in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools

2 schools
Elementary Schools1
High Schools1

District Details

City
Stephen
Total Enrollment
276
Teachers (FTE)
17
District spending per student
$18,007NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
6.3%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

Stephen-Argyle Central Schools has 2 schools in total — 1 elementary, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

The average composite rating for Stephen-Argyle Central Schools is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

Stephen-Argyle Central Schools's district-level spending was $18,007 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools is 16.2:1.

What is the top-rated school in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

Argyle Elementary is the highest-rated school in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools with a composite score of 7.7/10.

What are the test scores in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools?

Across schools in Stephen-Argyle Central Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 55.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 62.4%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
55.8%
ELA Proficiency
62.4%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, Minnesota Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.