Skip to main content
6.1avg / 10

Bladen County Schools School District

School District · Elizabethtown, North Carolina

Students: 3,843
Teachers (FTE): 247

Avg Rating

6.1

out of 10

Schools

12

6 elem, 3 mid, 3 high

Enrollment

3,843

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.6:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#67 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.2

below North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$16,306

+$3,194 vs North Carolina median

District size

3,843 students

Smaller than North Carolina median

The short answer

Bladen County Schools ranks #67 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Bladen County Schools's schools with real test data average 6.1/10 across 12 schools. Its top-rated schools are East Bladen High (7.8/10), East Arcadia Elementary (7.7/10), and West Bladen High (6.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Bladenboro Primary

STAAR proficiency rose +13.4 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Bladen County Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Bladen County Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (12 of 12). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1East Bladen High7.8 / 10
2East Arcadia Elementary7.7 / 10
3West Bladen High6.7 / 10
4Bladen Early College6.6 / 10
5Clarkton School of Discovery6.4 / 10
6Tar Heel School6.1 / 10
7Elizabethtown Middle6.0 / 10
8Bladen Lakes Primary5.9 / 10
9Elizabethtown Primary5.8 / 10
10Bladenboro Primary5.8 / 10

See all 12 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Bladen County Schools

Bladen County Schools is a Elizabethtown, North Carolina school district serving 12 schools.The district educates 3,843 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.6:1. District-level spending was $16,306 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.1/10, Bladen County Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is East Bladen High, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Bladen County Schools students show an average math proficiency of 39.5% and ELA proficiency of 37.7%.

The district includes 6 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 3 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Bladen County Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency39.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency37.7%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Bladen County Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Elizabethtown
Total Enrollment
3,843
Teachers (FTE)
247
District spending per student
$16,306NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
27.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Bladen County Schools?

Bladen County Schools has 12 schools in total — 6 elementary, 3 middle, and 3 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Bladen County Schools?

The average composite rating for Bladen County Schools is 6.1/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Bladen County Schools?

Bladen County Schools's district-level spending was $16,306 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Bladen County Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Bladen County Schools is 15.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Bladen County Schools?

East Bladen High is the highest-rated school in Bladen County Schools with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Bladen County Schools?

Across schools in Bladen County Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 39.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 37.7%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Bladen County Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Bladen County Schools has an average school rating of 6.1/10 across 12 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.1/10
Math Proficiency
39.5%
ELA Proficiency
37.7%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.