Skip to main content
5.9avg / 10

Brunswick County Schools School District

School District · Bolivia, North Carolina

Students: 13,262
Teachers (FTE): 868

Avg Rating

5.9

out of 10

Schools

20

10 elem, 5 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

13,262

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.3:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#82 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-0.4

below North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$13,088

$24 vs North Carolina median

District size

13,262 students

Much larger than North Carolina median

The short answer

Brunswick County Schools ranks #82 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Brunswick County Schools's schools with real test data average 5.9/10 across 20 schools. Its top-rated schools are Shallotte Middle (7.8/10), Town Creek Middle (7.4/10), and Brunswick County Early College (7.2/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Town Creek Elementary

STAAR proficiency rose +10.0 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Brunswick County Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Brunswick County Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (20 of 20). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Shallotte Middle7.8 / 10
2Town Creek Middle7.4 / 10
3Brunswick County Early College7.2 / 10
4Belville Elementary7.1 / 10
5North Brunswick High6.8 / 10
6South Brunswick High6.6 / 10
7Town Creek Elementary6.3 / 10
8Leland Middle6.2 / 10
9South Brunswick Middle5.9 / 10
10Southport Elementary5.8 / 10

See all 20 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Brunswick County Schools

Brunswick County Schools is a Bolivia, North Carolina school district serving 20 schools.The district educates 13,262 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.3:1. District-level spending was $13,088 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.9/10, Brunswick County Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Shallotte Middle, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Brunswick County Schools students show an average math proficiency of 57.0% and ELA proficiency of 52.3%.

The district includes 10 elementary schools, 5 middle schools, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Brunswick County Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency57.0%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency52.3%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Brunswick County Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Bolivia
Total Enrollment
13,262
Teachers (FTE)
868
District spending per student
$13,088NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
15.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Brunswick County Schools?

Brunswick County Schools has 20 schools in total — 10 elementary, 5 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Brunswick County Schools?

The average composite rating for Brunswick County Schools is 5.9/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Brunswick County Schools?

Brunswick County Schools's district-level spending was $13,088 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Brunswick County Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Brunswick County Schools is 15.3:1.

What is the top-rated school in Brunswick County Schools?

Shallotte Middle is the highest-rated school in Brunswick County Schools with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Brunswick County Schools?

Across schools in Brunswick County Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 57.0% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 52.3%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Brunswick County Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Brunswick County Schools has an average school rating of 5.9/10 across 20 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.9/10
Math Proficiency
57.0%
ELA Proficiency
52.3%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.