Skip to main content
6.7avg / 10

Lenoir County Public Schools School District

School District · Kinston, North Carolina

Students: 8,372
Teachers (FTE): 537

Avg Rating

6.7

out of 10

Schools

17

9 elem, 3 mid, 4 high

Enrollment

8,372

Student-Teacher Ratio

15.6:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#31 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.4

above North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$12,902

$210 vs North Carolina median

District size

8,372 students

Larger than North Carolina median

The short answer

Lenoir County Public Schools ranks #31 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Lenoir County Public Schools's schools with real test data average 6.7/10 across 17 schools. Its top-rated schools are Moss Hill Elementary (8.9/10), Banks Elementary (8.7/10), and Southwood Elementary (8.4/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Northeast Elementary

STAAR proficiency rose +20.4 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Lenoir County Public Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Lenoir County Public Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (17 of 17). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Moss Hill Elementary8.9 / 10
2Banks Elementary8.7 / 10
3Southwood Elementary8.4 / 10
4Northwest Elementary8.0 / 10
5Southeast Elementary7.5 / 10
6Pink Hill Elementary7.4 / 10
7Northeast Elementary7.0 / 10
8South Lenoir High6.8 / 10
9Lenoir County Early College High6.8 / 10
10Contentnea-Savannah School6.5 / 10

See all 17 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Lenoir County Public Schools

Lenoir County Public Schools is a Kinston, North Carolina school district serving 17 schools.The district educates 8,372 students with a student-teacher ratio of 15.6:1. District-level spending was $12,902 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.7/10, Lenoir County Public Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Moss Hill Elementary, which has a composite score of 8.9/10.

In standardized testing, Lenoir County Public Schools students show an average math proficiency of 43.5% and ELA proficiency of 42.0%.

The district includes 9 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 4 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Lenoir County Public Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency43.5%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency42.0%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Lenoir County Public Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Kinston
Total Enrollment
8,372
Teachers (FTE)
537
District spending per student
$12,902NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
26.1%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Lenoir County Public Schools?

Lenoir County Public Schools has 17 schools in total — 9 elementary, 3 middle, and 4 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Lenoir County Public Schools?

The average composite rating for Lenoir County Public Schools is 6.7/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Lenoir County Public Schools?

Lenoir County Public Schools's district-level spending was $12,902 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Lenoir County Public Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Lenoir County Public Schools is 15.6:1.

What is the top-rated school in Lenoir County Public Schools?

Moss Hill Elementary is the highest-rated school in Lenoir County Public Schools with a composite score of 8.9/10.

What are the test scores in Lenoir County Public Schools?

Across schools in Lenoir County Public Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 43.5% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 42.0%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Lenoir County Public Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Lenoir County Public Schools has an average school rating of 6.7/10 across 17 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.7/10
Math Proficiency
43.5%
ELA Proficiency
42.0%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.