Skip to main content
6.5avg / 10

Rutherford County Schools School District

School District · Forest City, North Carolina

Students: 7,409
Teachers (FTE): 500

Avg Rating

6.5

out of 10

Schools

18

10 elem, 3 mid, 5 high

Enrollment

7,409

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.8:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#41 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

+0.2

above North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,515

+$1,403 vs North Carolina median

District size

7,409 students

Larger than North Carolina median

The short answer

Rutherford County Schools ranks #41 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Rutherford County Schools's schools with real test data average 6.5/10 across 18 schools. Its top-rated schools are Rutherfordton Elementary School (9.2/10), Ellenboro Elementary School (9.0/10), and Cliffside Elementary School (8.1/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Ellenboro Elementary School

STAAR proficiency rose +14.3 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Rutherford County Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Rutherford County Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (18 of 18). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Rutherfordton Elementary School9.2 / 10
2Ellenboro Elementary School9.0 / 10
3Cliffside Elementary School8.1 / 10
4Pinnacle Elementary School7.4 / 10
5Chase High School7.2 / 10
6Harris Elementary School7.2 / 10
7R-S Central High School7.0 / 10
8East Rutherford High School6.6 / 10
9Mt. Vernon-Ruth Elementary School6.6 / 10
10Chase Middle School6.4 / 10

See all 18 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Rutherford County Schools

Rutherford County Schools is a Forest City, North Carolina school district serving 18 schools.The district educates 7,409 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.8:1. District-level spending was $14,515 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 6.5/10, Rutherford County Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Rutherfordton Elementary School, which has a composite score of 9.2/10.

In standardized testing, Rutherford County Schools students show an average math proficiency of 58.4% and ELA proficiency of 53.5%.

The district includes 10 elementary schools, 3 middle schools, and 5 high schools.

District Map

Schools in Rutherford County Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency58.4%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency53.5%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Rutherford County Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Forest City
Total Enrollment
7,409
Teachers (FTE)
500
District spending per student
$14,515NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
19.0%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Rutherford County Schools?

Rutherford County Schools has 18 schools in total — 10 elementary, 3 middle, and 5 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Rutherford County Schools?

The average composite rating for Rutherford County Schools is 6.5/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Rutherford County Schools?

Rutherford County Schools's district-level spending was $14,515 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Rutherford County Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Rutherford County Schools is 14.8:1.

What is the top-rated school in Rutherford County Schools?

Rutherfordton Elementary School is the highest-rated school in Rutherford County Schools with a composite score of 9.2/10.

What are the test scores in Rutherford County Schools?

Across schools in Rutherford County Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 58.4% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 53.5%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Rutherford County Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Rutherford County Schools has an average school rating of 6.5/10 across 18 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
6.5/10
Math Proficiency
58.4%
ELA Proficiency
53.5%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.