Skip to main content
4.8avg / 10

Swain County Schools School District

School District · Bryson City, North Carolina

Students: 1,897
Teachers (FTE): 132

Avg Rating

4.8

out of 10

Schools

5

2 elem, 1 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

1,897

Student-Teacher Ratio

14.4:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#116 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.5

below North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,518

+$1,406 vs North Carolina median

District size

1,897 students

Smaller than North Carolina median

The short answer

Swain County Schools ranks #116 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Swain County Schools's schools with real test data average 4.8/10 across 4 schools. Its top-rated schools are Swain County High School (5.5/10), Swain County West Elementary (5.1/10), and Swain County Middle School (4.7/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Swain County Middle School

STAAR proficiency rose +5.0 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Swain County Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Swain County Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (4 of 5). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Swain County High School5.5 / 10
2Swain County West Elementary5.1 / 10
3Swain County Middle School4.7 / 10
4Swain County East Elementary4.0 / 10

See all 5 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Swain County Schools

Swain County Schools is a Bryson City, North Carolina school district serving 5 schools.The district educates 1,897 students with a student-teacher ratio of 14.4:1. District-level spending was $14,518 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 4.8/10, Swain County Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Swain County High School, which has a composite score of 5.5/10.

In standardized testing, Swain County Schools students show an average math proficiency of 49.8% and ELA proficiency of 47.1%.

The district includes 2 elementary schools, 1 middle school, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Swain County Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency49.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency47.1%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Swain County Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Bryson City
Total Enrollment
1,897
Teachers (FTE)
132
District spending per student
$14,518NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
14.5%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Swain County Schools?

Swain County Schools has 5 schools in total — 2 elementary, 1 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Swain County Schools?

The average composite rating for Swain County Schools is 4.8/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Swain County Schools?

Swain County Schools's district-level spending was $14,518 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Swain County Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Swain County Schools is 14.4:1.

What is the top-rated school in Swain County Schools?

Swain County High School is the highest-rated school in Swain County Schools with a composite score of 5.5/10.

What are the test scores in Swain County Schools?

Across schools in Swain County Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 49.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 47.1%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Swain County Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Swain County Schools has an average school rating of 4.8/10 across 5 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
4.8/10
Math Proficiency
49.8%
ELA Proficiency
47.1%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.