Skip to main content
5.2avg / 10

Yancey County Schools School District

School District · Burnsville, North Carolina

Students: 2,076
Teachers (FTE): 151

Avg Rating

5.2

out of 10

Schools

7

4 elem, 2 mid, 1 high

Enrollment

2,076

Student-Teacher Ratio

13.7:1

How this district compares

North Carolina rank

#112 of 116

districts by avg. composite

Vs. state average

-1.1

below North Carolina avg

Per-pupil spending

$14,455

+$1,343 vs North Carolina median

District size

2,076 students

Smaller than North Carolina median

The short answer

Yancey County Schools ranks #112 of 116 North Carolina districts by overall school rating. Yancey County Schools's schools with real test data average 5.2/10 across 7 schools. Its top-rated schools are Micaville Elementary (7.8/10), Mountain Heritage High (6.5/10), and Cane River Middle (5.3/10). Schools with estimated (proxy) scores are excluded from this ranking.

Most improved · 2022 → 2024
Micaville Elementary

STAAR proficiency rose +9.1 points from 2022 to 2024. That's the biggest jump among Yancey County Schools schools across the two most recent comparable testing years.

Top-Rated Schools in Yancey County Schools

Ranked by MySchoolScout composite rating using only schools with real test data (7 of 7). "Value" = points above what student poverty predicts. Estimated (proxy) scores are excluded.

#SchoolRating
1Micaville Elementary7.8 / 10
2Mountain Heritage High6.5 / 10
3Cane River Middle5.3 / 10
4East Yancey Middle5.0 / 10
5South Toe Elementary4.8 / 10
6Blue Ridge Elementary3.7 / 10
7Burnsville Elementary3.4 / 10

See all 7 schools — including those with estimated data — in the full directory below. How we rate schools.

About Yancey County Schools

Yancey County Schools is a Burnsville, North Carolina school district serving 7 schools.The district educates 2,076 students with a student-teacher ratio of 13.7:1. District-level spending was $14,455 per student in fiscal year 2023 (NCES F-33).

With an average rating of 5.2/10, Yancey County Schools demonstrates solid academic performance.

The highest-rated school in the district is Micaville Elementary, which has a composite score of 7.8/10.

In standardized testing, Yancey County Schools students show an average math proficiency of 60.8% and ELA proficiency of 55.8%.

The district includes 4 elementary schools, 2 middle schools, and 1 high school.

District Map

Schools in Yancey County Schools, colored by MySchoolScout rank. Click a pin for details.

District Average Test Scores

Math Proficiency60.8%
School
State
Not reported
ELA Proficiency55.8%
School
State
Not reported

Average proficiency across all schools in Yancey County Schools with test data.

District Details

City
Burnsville
Total Enrollment
2,076
Teachers (FTE)
151
District spending per student
$14,455NCES F-33 · FY 2023 · This annual source is three years behind the current year.
Child poverty rate
19.0%Census SAIPE · 2024
District directory year
2023

Frequently Asked Questions

How many schools are in Yancey County Schools?

Yancey County Schools has 7 schools in total — 4 elementary, 2 middle, and 1 high schools. You can explore each school's ratings and details on this page.

What is the average rating for Yancey County Schools?

The average composite rating for Yancey County Schools is 5.2/10. This score is calculated from the individual ratings of all schools with academic data in the district.

What is the district spending per student in Yancey County Schools?

Yancey County Schools's district-level spending was $14,455 per student in fiscal year 2023, according to NCES F-33. This is district context, not an individual-school expense.

What is the student-teacher ratio in Yancey County Schools?

The average student-teacher ratio in Yancey County Schools is 13.7:1.

What is the top-rated school in Yancey County Schools?

Micaville Elementary is the highest-rated school in Yancey County Schools with a composite score of 7.8/10.

What are the test scores in Yancey County Schools?

Across schools in Yancey County Schools with test data, the average math proficiency is 60.8% and the average ELA (reading/writing) proficiency is 55.8%. These figures represent the percentage of students meeting or exceeding grade-level standards.

How does Yancey County Schools compare to other districts in North Carolina?

Yancey County Schools has an average school rating of 5.2/10 across 7 schools. Families can compare this to other districts in North Carolina by visiting individual district pages. Factors like school size, available programs, and community demographics also play a role in choosing the right fit.

How does MySchoolScout rate schools?

MySchoolScout ratings blend student growth, poverty-adjusted academic performance, and learning environment — plus college readiness for high schools. Weights vary by school level, and equity data is shown for context without being factored into the score. Learn more about our rating system on our methodology page.

District Averages

Overall Rating
5.2/10
Math Proficiency
60.8%
ELA Proficiency
55.8%

How we rate schools

A clear 1–10 score built from public data — growth, academics, and learning environment. No hidden criteria, no pay-to-play.

See how we rate

Data from NCES Common Core of Data, North Carolina Dept. of Education, and U.S. Census ACS for the 2023–24 school year. Rankings computed by MySchoolScout. See all data sources.

Get school insights in your inbox

New rankings and parent guides, free. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.